Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Purchasing New Cart - Go With 4.6?

X-Cart forums > Considering X-Cart > Considering using X-Cart for my project

Old 06-17-2013, 12:02 PM

Advanced Member

Default Purchasing New Cart - Go With 4.6?

I am about to purchase a new cart and am grappling with the decision as to whether or not to go with the new 4.6 version or an earlier, more stable version. Is it even possible to purchase an earlier version?

After reading through the X-Cart 4.6 released thread, http://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=67012, the latest release sounds more like a beta version.

I have been an X-Cart customer since 2006 and have purchased the most recent versions in the past, but with this new version 4.6.0, it looks like an upgrade to a more stable version in the coming months is inevitable. I am not a software developer and have purchased technical support sporadically over the years for various sites for most issues that were non-cosmetic, including updates and patches.

Part of the consideration here is the cost of the technical support for addressing the various bugs in the new version. In the past, the pricing was reasonable, nor had I purchased a version as cutting edge as 4.6.0, but the timing is as such at this moment. I know that there is another thread discussing the new tech support pricing structure, and do not wish to start a discussion here, but just want to mention that this is a factor.