Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Module Development - Stuck

X-Cart forums > X-Cart 5 > Dev Questions (X-Cart 5)

Old 09-02-2015, 05:25 AM

Advanced Member

Default Module Development - Stuck

Hello Community,

I am trying to figure out the layout of X-Cart 5 (5.2.6 to be exact) as I need to add a few features. I have programmed my own PHP solutions so I am not a newbie but I am having a little trouble understanding the layout of this application.

I have read the page and watch the video at:

http://kb.x-cart.com/display/XDD/Webinar+1+-+18+Mar+2014+-+developing+modules+for+X-Cart+5

What I was wondering is if anyone knows any other good places to start learning module development? One of the disadvantages of above is the name of the module and calls are both News.

However let's say you want to add a ticket system to X-Cart. Your target maybe called tickets where as the directory is MyDev\\TicketSystem. In this case it isn't just News and News for everything but TicketSystem in some places and Tickets in others.

I am starting to get the layout but it hasn't quite totally clicked for me yet. So if anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it!

Thank you!

Jeremy

X-Cart 5.3 running on:
* Web server: Nginx with PHP-FPM via FastCGI (Opcache enabled)
* Database: Percona Server
Old 09-02-2015, 05:48 AM

X-Guru

Default Re: Module Development - Stuck

classes/XLite/Modules/MyDev/TicketSystem will be the base directory for your module and the base namespace.

But "targets" are tied to controller classes (and their names), not to the base directory.
Please check this article: http://kb.x-cart.com/display/XDD/Controller+class

---

User manual Video tutorials X-Cart FAQ

You are welcome to press "Thanks" button
if you find this post useful

Click here to learn how to apply patches

X-Cart Extensions

The following user thanks qualiteam for this useful post:
cleverwise (09-02-2015)