Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Newest Products

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #291  
Old 03-13-2010, 08:35 AM
 
tom437 tom437 is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 209
 

Default Re: Newest Products

After, adding those code, whats next? how do we set it up? where does it appear on the admin part? how do I let it appear on the store front/
Please
__________________
x cart 4.4.2
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 03-14-2010, 06:51 AM
  ShishaPipeUK's Avatar 
ShishaPipeUK ShishaPipeUK is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London, England.
Posts: 118
 

Default Re: Newest Products

It does not appear in the admin section, it appears on your shopping cart home page and you can either enter this in your Speed bar in admin section. Just put in Link Title = New Products and url = newproducts.php.

You can also edit your skin1/customer home.tpl
__________________
Apache/2.0.55 (Red Hat) & MYSQL Server: 5.0.24
PERL: 5.008005 / PHP: 4.4.4 - 4.3.1 X-CART

Shop carts at
http://www.nightscene.co.uk/shop/home.php
http://www.theshisha.net/shopcart/home.php
http://www.system-maintenance.com/maint/home.php
http://www.tabac4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 03-30-2010, 04:21 PM
 
Pyro Pyro is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
 

Default Re: Newest Products

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShishaPipeUK
The newproducts works fine with 4.3.1

Attached are the 2 files i use on 4.3.1 which are

My X-Cart home directory - newproducts.php
My X-Cart home/skin1/customer/main/newproducts.tpl

I have also included my X-Cart home/skin1/customer/home_main.tpl file as this is a new shop and not been changed yet.


And you can view this at http://www.nightscene.co.uk/shop/newproducts.php


I just want to clarify, if I only want to make a new page like yours, I just have to include those two files? I do not need it to show up on the home page at all, so do I not need the newproducts.tpl? I am using 4.3.1, but I get

"Page not found! The requested page does not exist or you are not allowed to access it!".

I have put the "newproducts.tpl" into the /skin1/customer/main and I have put the "newproducts.php" into the root directory. When i visit the php file, I get the error listed above.

Thanks
__________________
Best Wishes,
James

4.5.2 Gold (work in progress)
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 04-02-2010, 08:52 PM
 
sparker2 sparker2 is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 290
 

Default Re: Newest Products

Has this error been resolved because I am getting this also? The page not found. Thanks in advance for your help.
__________________
Shareen
sparker2@cox.net
http://www.stitches4u.com
X-Cart Version 4.5.0 with Smart Template vs 4.4.x
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 04-02-2010, 08:59 PM
 
Pyro Pyro is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
 

Default Re: Newest Products

I have not found the answer yet. I have tried a few things, but nothing seems to work. Let me know if you make any head way and I will do the same.
__________________
Best Wishes,
James

4.5.2 Gold (work in progress)
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 04-02-2010, 09:05 PM
 
sparker2 sparker2 is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 290
 

Default Re: Newest Products

I got the page to load by adding the two lines of code to the home_main.tpl page but when the page loads it does not display anything. just : in a big menu box with a folder icon in left hand corner.
__________________
Shareen
sparker2@cox.net
http://www.stitches4u.com
X-Cart Version 4.5.0 with Smart Template vs 4.4.x
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 04-04-2010, 08:21 AM
 
sparker2 sparker2 is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 290
 

Default Re: Newest Products

Just to give you guys an update for version 4.3.1, maybe this can help someone else. I got the label to show for the What's new category by changing the language code from US to en because 4.3.1 does not use code US like the previous versions. I am still not able to get the description to show so I just included it in the title code for now. I have not added any new products in a while but I set the (How many days for the products (0 to disable) setting to 1000 and I can get products to show up which is good. Now is there a way to add a (if) statement some place so that if there are no new products for that time frame, it will display a message like (No new products have been added at this time). I notice that if there are no new products it will display the featured products list from my home page which is not good for me.
__________________
Shareen
sparker2@cox.net
http://www.stitches4u.com
X-Cart Version 4.5.0 with Smart Template vs 4.4.x
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 04-11-2010, 10:02 AM
  amy2203's Avatar 
amy2203 amy2203 is offline
 

X-Wizard
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 1,509
 

Default Re: Newest Products

I've had this running for ages and it's been fine, but I've added a field to the database, and the products.tpl template displays different images based on this field.

The search function this uses doesn't search for this field though so it's displaying the wrong images. I've tried looking in func.product.php but I can't seem to find the right place to add my field to the select query.

Can anyone help?

tia,
__________________
X-Cart version 5 (Previously 3.5-4)

Previous Versions included
BCSE Reward Points Mod
Altered Cart On Sale Mod
Wordpress Plugin

Please don't PM me for support. I help where I can on the forum and your question will more likely be answered there.

Shout me a Coffee!
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 04-13-2010, 02:13 PM
  jadefrolics's Avatar 
jadefrolics jadefrolics is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 138
 

Default Re: Newest Products

Hi all, I just tried to add this mod to my 4.3 shop, and it looks perfect. However, all the product thumbnails take me to the home page when I click them, not the product page. It doesn't even attempt to go to the product page. I don't know smarty or php, and I kinda put it all together based on a variety of posts in this thread, so I must have done part of it wrong.

Can anyone tell me where I can find code that tells the product thumbnail to link to the product detail page rather than the home page? Thanks!
__________________
shop jadefrolics
illustrated prints, accessories, and other goodies
http://shop.jadefrolics.com
X-Cart Gold Version 4.4.1
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 05-11-2010, 11:48 AM
 
presson83 presson83 is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 143
 

Default Re: Newest Products

For anyone having trouble getting the normal price to show in 4.2.3 (not the list price) I had to update the query in newproducts.php (from the original post) like so:

Code:
SELECT xcart_products.*, xcart_pricing.*, xcart_quick_flags.* from xcart_products LEFT JOIN xcart_quick_flags ON xcart_quick_flags.productid = xcart_products.productid LEFT JOIN xcart_pricing ON xcart_pricing.productid = xcart_products.productid WHERE forsale = 'Y' ORDER BY add_date DESC LIMIT 12

So that problem is taken care of. My final problem is getting the buy now button to work. Has anyone gotten the buy_now button functioning with this mod?
__________________
v 4.1.11, v 4.2
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:14 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020