Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Crazy Computer Builder Mod In the Making

X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design

Old 03-11-2004, 04:58 PM

Advanced Member

Default Crazy Computer Builder Mod In the Making

Probably not the best place to post, but here it is.

I'm trying to build a computer builder page that uses products in stock to build your own computer for my site. I want it to only display products that are compatible with other products. Say when I add a motherboard as a new product, i want to be able to say it accepts Socket A processors supports up to 3.2 ghz, 5 pci slots, agp 8x/4x, ddr 400/300 blah blah blah. Then it will populate the processor field with compatable processors, 5 different fileds for pci slots. Anyways i know this is a pretty easy task and that I can do it with querys which im not really good at. I just need to be pointed in the right direction. How would I go about doing querys to the database to find something like this:

Find all motherboards that support amd duron

DATA
-------------
AMD Athlon XP/Athlon/Duron
AMD Athlon/Duron
AMD Athlon XP/Duron
Intel P4

Then it would display:
AMD Athlon XP/Athlon/Duron
AMD Athlon/Duron
AMD Athlon XP/Duron

I'm not sure what to look for.

1 more question

In a form, how can i add new items on the fly without loosing all the data i already entered.

Say I'm entering all the specs for a motherboard and theres a new item athlon xp 64 bit, heres an example.

AMD
---------
0 Athlon XP
0 Athlon
0 Duron
Add Item:__________ Update