Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

integrating voting poll, almost working but....

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-07-2003, 04:34 AM
 
snorocket snorocket is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 403
 

Default integrating voting poll, almost working but....

ok i installed a voting poll and it works fine when you hard link to the poll. What i want to do is have the poll show up under the newletter right where the "powered by" is. This is the script i'm supposed to insert somewhere to make the poll show up on the page:

<?php require '/xxx/x/xxxxx/htdocs/polls/booth.php';
display_booth(1); ?>

I tried inserting this into the poweredby.tpl but i just get the smarty errors, even tried the old {literal}{/literal} trick with no luck, this seems to be a fairly easy poll to integrate but how do i do this? what do i need to change/modify to get this poll to show up in place of the powered by ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2003, 07:27 PM
  B00MER's Avatar 
B00MER B00MER is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Keller, TX (Cart-Lab.com)
Posts: 3,165
 

Default

you need to wrap it with smarty tags.

{php}
...
{/php}

and remove the <? and ?>
__________________
Cart-Lab - 100+ Social Bookmarks for X-Cart.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2003, 07:48 PM
 
snorocket snorocket is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 403
 

Default a step closer

thanks BOOMER, i'm one step closer, now i get the unexpected parse error but at least i learned the php smarty thing, i'll keep plugging away
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2003, 07:57 PM
  B00MER's Avatar 
B00MER B00MER is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Keller, TX (Cart-Lab.com)
Posts: 3,165
 

Default

<?php

may cause the grief, remove that as well.
__________________
Cart-Lab - 100+ Social Bookmarks for X-Cart.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2003, 08:17 PM
 
snorocket snorocket is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 403
 

Default that worked

that worked, Thanks BOOMER, helps to know smarty, i think i'll go over to php.net and study up on it a bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2003, 03:05 PM
 
snorocket snorocket is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 403
 

Default an update and a plug

heres an update on my poll i integrated into xcart it works great, BOOMER i had to change the script to look like this for it to work though:

{php}
include("http://www.yoursite.com/path/to/phpQ/fillsurvey.php?sid=blah");
{/php}

i also i got fed up with the pethetic cheap free polls that you download from places, i just bought phpQ from http://www.chumpsoft.com and with the above code it works great and phpQ has templates so you can make it fit right in with your sites layout, i recommend phpQ to anyone, well worth it !!!

PS - they don't have an affiliate link yet but if you buy it mention "snorocket" thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:03 PM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020