Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Getting error when migrate data
 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 5 > Modules and themes (X-Cart 5)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-30-2018, 02:02 AM
 
chandresh chandresh is offline
    
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 0
 

Default Getting error when migrate data

I am getting error XLite\Module\XC\MigrationWizard\Logic\Migration\St ep\DetectTransferableData::getPlatformVersion(

when migrate data from xcart 4 to 5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2018, 09:49 AM
  cflsystems's Avatar 
cflsystems cflsystems is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13,483
 

Default Re: Getting error when migrate data

You shouldn't be using this tool to migrate data form XC4 to XC5. It never worked right.
Not to mention it cannot and will not migrate any non-stock XC data you have including XC own modules.
__________________
Steve Stoyanov
CFLSystems.com
Web Development
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2018, 01:25 PM
  qualiteam's Avatar 
qualiteam qualiteam is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,373
 

Default Re: Getting error when migrate data

Quote:
Originally Posted by cflsystems
You shouldn't be using this tool to migrate data form XC4 to XC5. It never worked right.
Not to mention it cannot and will not migrate any non-stock XC data you have including XC own modules.


Not sure if you are aware of that or not, but we recently launched an offer to migrate to X-Cart 5 free of charge for Classic platform owners.
All migrations (a little over 20 so far, more in progress) there are completed with the Migration Wizard.
The tool has improved a lot during last few months, it even works with 4.1 now.
However you are right, Steve, it will not migrate custom data.
__________________
Alex Solovev,
Qualiteam

---

User manual Video tutorials X-Cart FAQ

You are welcome to press "Thanks" button
if you find this post useful

Click here to learn how to apply patches

X-Cart Extensions

Last edited by qualiteam : 12-07-2018 at 02:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2018, 01:40 PM
  qualiteam's Avatar 
qualiteam qualiteam is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,373
 

Default Re: Getting error when migrate data

Quote:
Originally Posted by chandresh
I am getting error XLite\Module\XC\MigrationWizard\Logic\Migration\St ep\DetectTransferableData::getPlatformVersion(

when migrate data from xcart 4 to 5


Has the module been upgraded to the latest version?
What is the origin X-Cart version?
__________________
Alex Solovev,
Qualiteam

---

User manual Video tutorials X-Cart FAQ

You are welcome to press "Thanks" button
if you find this post useful

Click here to learn how to apply patches

X-Cart Extensions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2018, 03:11 PM
  cflsystems's Avatar 
cflsystems cflsystems is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13,483
 

Default Re: Getting error when migrate data

Quote:
Originally Posted by qualiteam
Not sure if you are aware of that or not, but we recently launched an offer to migrate to X-Cart 5 free of charge for Classic platform owners.
All migrations (a little over 20 so far, more in progress) there are completed using the Migration Wizard.
The tool has improved a lot during last few months, it even works with 4.1 now.
However you are right, Steve, it will not migrate custom data.

Yes I know about the offer.
I have not used the wizard recently but last time I tried (probably 5-6 months ago) it still didn't work properly and it was so slow I could have manually entered the data faster...
I don't know how it works now. However without being able to map the input and output this wizard will not work for like at least 80% of the XC4 stores.

Still the best way to do the data transfer and account for all data and keep all ids is to use custom scripts and import directly in database.
__________________
Steve Stoyanov
CFLSystems.com
Web Development
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2018, 12:44 PM
  BCSE's Avatar 
BCSE BCSE is offline
 

X-Man
  
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio - bcsengineering.com
Posts: 2,879
 

Default Re: Getting error when migrate data

We use custom scripts too. Just makes the most sense in most cases.

Carrie
__________________
Custom Development, Custom Coding and Pre-built modules for X-cart since 2002!

We support X-cart versions 3.x through 5.x!

Home of the famous Authorize.net DPM & CIM Modules, Reward Points Module, Point of Sale module, Speed Booster modules and more!


Over 200 X-cart Mods available & Thousands of Customizations Since 2002 - bcsengineering.com

Please E-Mail us for questions/support!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2018, 04:49 AM
 
gomodern gomodern is offline
 

Newbie
  
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
 

Default Re: Getting error when migrate data

We are having a nightmare migrating. Ive asked xcart about doing it but I think they are busy. Can anyone offer a service to do it for us? We want it done really quickly. Heres what I wrote in the other forum -



We have been trying for several days using the migration tool to migrate our data to xcart 5 (Business with variants add ons & shop by brand add on) from xcart (gold) 4.1.8 & it just isnt working.



Firstly the migration time is HOURS. Over 8 hours, usually closer to 20. Thats not normal surely? Even exporting/importing spreadsheets seems to take forever. But its the data itself Im really having problems with, specifically the variants & modifiers. Currently we only have a tiny handful of products we have applied variants to, usually we use modifiers (which we are changing to variants once we switch). We have around 3500 products with modifier menus, some have up to 6 menus. Xcart 4 of course only uses LOCAL variant/modifier menus & so we will need to keep these as local changing them one by one as we set up the new system.



So, either the menus dont get carried across at all OR they end up in global attributes (with no name on them so we have no idea what they are). That gave me over 2000 global attributes which we have deleted but given we have tried this import on numerous ocassions & got the same result I dont think it will work.



It also doesnt carry the manufacturers name across (the brand is a BIG part of our products). It seems manufacturer (brand) is now an attribute. We also have an extra field for designer which isnt being imported.



All of this is nothing but a huge headache. Why does a 'simple' importer that supposedly works in minutes simply not work? We cant possibly set up over 3000 products with new menus just because xcart cant import the data.
__________________
latest version
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2018, 11:16 AM
  cflsystems's Avatar 
cflsystems cflsystems is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13,483
 

Default Re: Getting error when migrate data

Like I mentioned - the migration wizard will not work for anything but small and simple data pool.
To properly migrate XC4 to XC5 you need to use custom scripts tailored to your data and requirements.

Using XC admin to import/export data has been a snail from the very beginning of XC5. Unless you are trying to import like 50-60 products at a time it will take forever and eventually time out at times.
__________________
Steve Stoyanov
CFLSystems.com
Web Development
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2018, 11:46 AM
  BCSE's Avatar 
BCSE BCSE is offline
 

X-Man
  
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio - bcsengineering.com
Posts: 2,879
 

Default Re: Getting error when migrate data

You could just upgrade to x-cart 4.7.10 for now.

We could quote upgrading you to the latest 4 or to X-cart 5. We'd need to have some more details. If you're interested in more info drop us an email:
https://www.bcsengineering.com/free_quote/

Like Steve said, a custom import script is the best solution here.

Carrie
__________________
Custom Development, Custom Coding and Pre-built modules for X-cart since 2002!

We support X-cart versions 3.x through 5.x!

Home of the famous Authorize.net DPM & CIM Modules, Reward Points Module, Point of Sale module, Speed Booster modules and more!


Over 200 X-cart Mods available & Thousands of Customizations Since 2002 - bcsengineering.com

Please E-Mail us for questions/support!
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 5 > Modules and themes (X-Cart 5)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:30 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2018