Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls
 

Image placement in product details

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-04-2005, 03:38 AM
 
jclick jclick is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
 

Default Image placement in product details

In product details on the customer end, is there a way of having the image appear at the top of the item description rather than the side. It seems that when the image is on the side, it squeezes the description into a tight column.
__________________
X-Cart version 4.0.9
Operation system Linux
MySQL server 4.0.22-standard
MySQL client 4.0.22

My Location:
Concord, North Carolina

My site is a work in progress by a web newbie so no hard poking please!
www.4ClicksGPS.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2005, 04:39 AM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

Sure, here's what you need to do in product.tpl (might vary slightly in your version, this code is from 4.0.11 - so make a backup first!):

Replace this:

Code:
<TD valign="top" align="left" rowspan="2" width="100"> {include file="product_thumbnail.tpl" productid=$product.productid image_x=$product.image_x image_y=$product.image_y product=$product.product tmbn_url=$product.tmbn_url id="product_thumbnail"} </TD> <TD valign="top"> <SPAN class=> {if $product.fulldescr ne ""}{$product.fulldescr}{else}{$product.descr}{/if} </SPAN>

with this:

Code:
<TD valign="top"> {include file="product_thumbnail.tpl" productid=$product.productid image_x=$product.image_x image_y=$product.image_y product=$product.product tmbn_url=$product.tmbn_url id="product_thumbnail"} {if $product.fulldescr ne ""}{$product.fulldescr}{else}{$product.descr}{/if}
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:15 AM
 
jclick jclick is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
 

Default

balinor,
Is there a way of just eliminating the image? The more I thought about it the more that made sense than relocating the image. I am planning on creating the item descriptions in my html editor and then copying the code into x-cart products and into my eBay store auction items. I will be putting the image in the description via html.

BTW, the template you are editing... is is the customer>main>product.tpl?

Thanks for your help.
__________________
X-Cart version 4.0.9
Operation system Linux
MySQL server 4.0.22-standard
MySQL client 4.0.22

My Location:
Concord, North Carolina

My site is a work in progress by a web newbie so no hard poking please!
www.4ClicksGPS.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:18 AM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

Sure, just remove or comment out this part:

Code:
{include file="product_thumbnail.tpl" productid=$product.productid image_x=$product.image_x image_y=$product.image_y product=$product.product tmbn_url=$product.tmbn_url id="product_thumbnail"}

Yes, customer/main/product.tpl
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:44 AM
 
jclick jclick is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
 

Default

balinor,
while I got your attention, do you use the Smarty Template editor? I've gone to their website "http://smarty.php.net/" and downloaded their product but I'm not sure exactly what it is supposed to do. Is it similar to an html editor or totally different?
__________________
X-Cart version 4.0.9
Operation system Linux
MySQL server 4.0.22-standard
MySQL client 4.0.22

My Location:
Concord, North Carolina

My site is a work in progress by a web newbie so no hard poking please!
www.4ClicksGPS.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:45 AM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

Sorry, can't say as I have ever used it.
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:28 AM
 
jclick jclick is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
 

Default

balinor,
Thank you for your help.
__________________
X-Cart version 4.0.9
Operation system Linux
MySQL server 4.0.22-standard
MySQL client 4.0.22

My Location:
Concord, North Carolina

My site is a work in progress by a web newbie so no hard poking please!
www.4ClicksGPS.com
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:57 PM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020