Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Third Party Add-Ons for X-Cart 4
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-30-2012, 02:23 PM
 
peggyr peggyr is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 612
 

Default CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

Hi Jon,

I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, but am trying to setup 'disabled' URLs in CDSEO Pro.

I have items that I'm discontinuing, and know the URL that I want these items pointing to, when they sell out, and I put them into disabled mode in X-cart.

I have put in the fully qualified URL of the 'new URL' in the 'disabled URL' for the product on the CDSEO Admin screen. The URL holds until I cycle out.

When I run the 'auto-populate' I have been selecting the option

"Delete and re-populate all CDSEO fields (WARNING: Not reversible!" which has always succeeded, though maybe this is wiping out the new URLs I have been putting in the 'Disabled URL field'. I have been changing the meta tags on my products within X-cart, so thought this was the best option to run.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks
__________________
X-Cart GP 4.7.12 | XCARTMODS.CO.UK reBOOT (reDUX)4.7.12.8 | Live
IONOS Hosting | Linux | PHP 7.4.33 | MySQL 5.7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2012, 05:29 PM
  Jon's Avatar 
Jon Jon is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4,200
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

When you select "Delete and re-populate all CDSEO fields" it will do exactly as it states and delete all of your CDSEO fields. This will delete any customizations including anything entered into the disabled url field.

The "Delete and re-populate" setting shouldn't be used on live stores for the most part.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2012, 07:11 PM
 
Stizerg Stizerg is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 195
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

Simply it's a one time use tool, after you install CDSEO and fill in or import your products.
__________________
X-Cart Gold Plus 4.6.6
A lot of custom mods
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2012, 10:23 AM
 
peggyr peggyr is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 612
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

Thanks Jon,

I thought I had seen some sort of problem with changes not being applied unless I did the DELETE and REPOPULATE option -- but something else must have been going on.

So, after I have initially setup CDSEOPro for my items -- any changes I make to the items (meta tags, add disabled URL, etc), I just make the change in X-cart admin, and then just 'generate the SITEMAP' in CDSEOPro admin (I'm not having a cron job do the sitemap generation automatically yet).

Thanks.





Peggy
__________________
X-Cart GP 4.7.12 | XCARTMODS.CO.UK reBOOT (reDUX)4.7.12.8 | Live
IONOS Hosting | Linux | PHP 7.4.33 | MySQL 5.7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2012, 02:56 PM
  Jon's Avatar 
Jon Jon is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4,200
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

After you initially setup, you can modify them however you wish inside the CDSEO Admin section, but never delete and repopulate. Only populate empty fields. This is useful for when new items are added.

If a field can't be filled in automatically, there must not be information available for it and it will need to be entered manually.

If you haven't already, I'd recommend installing this addon so you can modify CDSEO values in the X-Cart admin instead of the default values that CDSEO replace:
http://www.x-cart-seo.com/cdseo-pro-for-x-cart/xcart-admin-addon.php
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2012, 04:40 PM
 
peggyr peggyr is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 612
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

Thanks Jon,

I think that's the missing piece I needed.

Have a great evening!
__________________
X-Cart GP 4.7.12 | XCARTMODS.CO.UK reBOOT (reDUX)4.7.12.8 | Live
IONOS Hosting | Linux | PHP 7.4.33 | MySQL 5.7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2013, 10:38 AM
 
FCA FCA is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 81
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

I am overhauling my website (virtually all products) and in most instances, changing the product description (!PRODUCT) because in many cases it is wrong or poorly presented. In addition to that, the manufacturer information, meta-tags and meta-descriptions are also undesirable. If I "Delete and re-populate all CDSEO fields" , will that screw up the links to products that have have not yet been changed?
__________________
v4.3.2 X-Cart Pro, X-Configurator, X-Affiliate, X-Feature Comparison, X-Gift Registry, X-Magnifier, X-Special Offers, X-Survey, Windows, MagneticOne Translater, New Jersey
http://www.industrialhardware.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2013, 11:46 AM
  Jon's Avatar 
Jon Jon is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4,200
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

The most important part for SEO is the page title and the URL; you don't really want to change the url unless you absolutely have to.

The meta keywords don't factor into rankings so really aren't an issue. The meta description doesn't factor into rankings but is important to be written in a way that will convert the user by enticing them to want to click on your link instead of somebody elses.

If you want to just change the meta keywords and meta descriptions, you can clear them all and then re-populate those empty fields instead of deleting and repopulating which may cause various problems.

You can clear the meta keywords and descriptions with the following SQL Patch which can be run from the X-Cart Admin -> Tools -> Patch Upgrade section:

Code:
UPDATE wcm_cdseo SET cdseoKeyword='', cdseoDescription='' WHERE cdseoType='product';
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2013, 12:11 PM
 
FCA FCA is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 81
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

My main concern is breaking links of products that have not had a change in their (!PRODUCT)product name. For an example, currently the url from the renamed product is:

http://www.industrialhardware.com/hager-door-hardware-3215-us10b-sfic-less-core-deadbolt-lock-2-3-8-backse...3215-8840.html

but I want it to reflect the changed description, which is:

Hager Deadlock 3215 2-3/8 US10B NC FP1RC IC ( SFIC ) ( 148304 ) UPC 798550483045

BUT if I have not changed the description, I would think that re-constituting the url's (by deleting and re-populating) should not have any effect on existing links. Am I correct? If I am correct, I plan on doing this continuously until I have completed restructuring my site. Is that a problem?
__________________
v4.3.2 X-Cart Pro, X-Configurator, X-Affiliate, X-Feature Comparison, X-Gift Registry, X-Magnifier, X-Special Offers, X-Survey, Windows, MagneticOne Translater, New Jersey
http://www.industrialhardware.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2013, 12:30 PM
  Jon's Avatar 
Jon Jon is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4,200
 

Default Re: CDSEO Pro and Disabled URLs

If you delete and repopulate, the links that haven't changed will be the same as long as they haven't been customized after autopopulation, however there won't be 301 redirects in place from the old urls to the new urls for the urls that change. If you export, modify in CSV, and import, then 301 redirects will be in place. Alternatively, contact me via our support desk at http://www.websitecm.com/support/ and I can send you a file that will write all current links to the url history so they will 301 redirect however they get changed, and then you could use the delete and re-populate (though I would discourage the use of it on a live site still).
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Third Party Add-Ons for X-Cart 4


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:17 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020