Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Third Party Add-Ons for X-Cart 4
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-26-2010, 10:21 AM
 
anandat anandat is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 914
 

Question Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

Hi,
Phil has created nice FREE dynamic ajax search module http://www.xcartmods.co.uk/x-cart-ajax-dynamic-product-search.html

But any one knows how it can be configure to work with Smart Search ?

According Phil it easily works with Smart Search so any body has done yet ?

If so then please share the code

Thanks
__________________
X-Cart: 4.7.7 LIVE
Skin:Ultra by xcartmods.co.uk
X-cart Modules: | ACR, Rich Google Search, Customer Testimonials | Cloud Search, | Websitecm: CDSEO (2.1.9)
---------------
Server: Linux
php: 5.3
mysql: 5.0.89
----------------
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2010, 10:22 AM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

Moving to Third Party Add-Ons
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2010, 10:29 AM
 
PhilJ PhilJ is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,094
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

As far as I know, install the mod up to part 4, then...

skin1/modules/Smart_Search/smart_search.tpl

Change...
Code:
<input name="q" type="text" value="{$searchstring|escape:'html'}" size="50" />
To...
Code:
<input type="text" name="q" class="text" value="{$lng.lbl_search}" size="50" onblur="if(this.value=='') this.value='{$lng.lbl_search}';" onfocus="if(this.value=='{$lng.lbl_search}') this.value='';" autocomplete="off" onKeyUp="ajax_showOptions(this,'getProduct',event)" onBlur="this.form.submit();" />
__________________
xcartmods.co.uk
Reply With Quote

The following 2 users thank PhilJ for this useful post:
am2003 (08-03-2010), anandat (08-03-2010)
  #4  
Old 08-03-2010, 07:11 AM
 
anandat anandat is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 914
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

PhilJ,
You rock man....it's worked like a charm

Could you please do one favor...I need separate search box to find out manufacturers also...is it possible ? or it possible to provide option to search manufactures with same search box ?

It will be great help mate
__________________
X-Cart: 4.7.7 LIVE
Skin:Ultra by xcartmods.co.uk
X-cart Modules: | ACR, Rich Google Search, Customer Testimonials | Cloud Search, | Websitecm: CDSEO (2.1.9)
---------------
Server: Linux
php: 5.3
mysql: 5.0.89
----------------
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2010, 09:03 AM
 
PhilJ PhilJ is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,094
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

I'd suggest you just include the manufacturer names in your product names.

Or, create a separate manufacturer dropdown, eg.

Code:
<form method="get" action="manufacturers.php"> <select name="mid" onchange="this.form.submit()"> <option value="0" selected>{$lng.lbl_manufacturers}...</option> {section name=mid loop=$manufacturers_menu} <option value="{$manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturerid}"{if $mid eq $manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturerid} selected{/if}>{$manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturer}</option> {/section} </select> </form>

v4.4.x

Code:
<form method="get" action="manufacturers.php"> <select name="manufacturerid" onchange="this.form.submit()"> <option value="0" selected>{$lng.lbl_manufacturers}...</option> {section name=mid loop=$manufacturers_menu} <option value="{$manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturerid}"{if $mid eq $manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturerid} selected{/if}>{$manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturer}</option> {/section} </select> </form>
__________________
xcartmods.co.uk
Reply With Quote

The following user thanks PhilJ for this useful post:
am2003 (08-03-2010)
  #6  
Old 08-03-2010, 10:51 PM
 
anandat anandat is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 914
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

Phil,
Thanks for your reply.
Actually I have set the option in admin "Manufacturers list limit (leave empty if unlimited)" - 10
So it just displaying 10 manufactures only when I insert your above code.
I have around 2500 manufactures & it's not good idea to show all of them in one page. And that's the reason I required to give option to search manufactures also.
Any other possible way to allow customer to search manufacturer quickly ? I am already using http://www.websitecm.com/news/new-x-cart-mods/new-x-cart-module-manufacturers-a-z-for-xcart/ mod to display manufactures more effectively.

Also I am using your very effective nice little cool mod http://www.xcartmods.co.uk/x-cart-filter-by-manufacturer.html
__________________
X-Cart: 4.7.7 LIVE
Skin:Ultra by xcartmods.co.uk
X-cart Modules: | ACR, Rich Google Search, Customer Testimonials | Cloud Search, | Websitecm: CDSEO (2.1.9)
---------------
Server: Linux
php: 5.3
mysql: 5.0.89
----------------
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2011, 06:54 AM
 
Paulw Paulw is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdon (Manchester)
Posts: 134
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilJ
As far as I know, install the mod up to part 4, then...

skin1/modules/Smart_Search/smart_search.tpl

Change...
Code:
<input name="q" type="text" value="{$searchstring|escape:'html'}" size="50" />
To...
Code:
<input type="text" name="q" class="text" value="{$lng.lbl_search}" size="50" onblur="if(this.value=='') this.value='{$lng.lbl_search}';" onfocus="if(this.value=='{$lng.lbl_search}') this.value='';" autocomplete="off" onKeyUp="ajax_showOptions(this,'getProduct',event)" onBlur="this.form.submit();" />

Has this changed now as the file is different on the latest version of smart search?
__________________
X-Cart Gold V 4.4.1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-2011, 06:57 AM
 
PhilJ PhilJ is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,094
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

Yes, as you're using v4.4.x it will probably be...

skin/common_files/modules/Smart_Search/smart_search.tpl


__________________
xcartmods.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-15-2011, 07:38 AM
 
Paulw Paulw is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdon (Manchester)
Posts: 134
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilJ
Yes, as you're using v4.4.x it will probably be...

skin/common_files/modules/Smart_Search/smart_search.tpl



Thanks Phil,

I've uploaded everything to www.waterfeatures2go.co.uk

But it doesn't seem to be working any ideas where I may have gone wrong?

Paul
__________________
X-Cart Gold V 4.4.1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:52 AM
 
Paulw Paulw is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdon (Manchester)
Posts: 134
 

Default Re: Any idea how to use "dynamic ajax search" with Smart Search

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulw
Thanks Phil,

I've uploaded everything to www.waterfeatures2go.co.uk

But it doesn't seem to be working any ideas where I may have gone wrong?

Paul

Still haven't got a sulution Phil. Not sure this mod actually works on 4.4.1
__________________
X-Cart Gold V 4.4.1
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Third Party Add-Ons for X-Cart 4


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:18 PM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020