Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Banner System> Banner Effect
 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > Considering X-Cart > Considering using X-Cart for my project
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-26-2013, 04:05 AM
 
Holdmusic34 Holdmusic34 is offline
 

Member
  
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
 

Default Banner System> Banner Effect

Hi,

Could some kind soul please point me in the right direction?

X Cart Gold Plus 4.5.5 demo using the x cart banner module.
3 column skin.

The module will not show a transition effect, no matter if it is a top, left or bottom banner set to fade, random or anything else.
Rather, the banner displays all images in the banner at the same time, in a top-down column.
The position of the two or three photographs can be changed in the banner images settings; this takes effect.
Just the images don't transition and are one after the other.

My timer is set to 4 seconds in Modules>Banners>Settings. Timer makes no diffference.

Thank you.
__________________
X Cart 4.5.5 Gold Plus
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2013, 06:00 AM
 
carpeperdiem carpeperdiem is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York City, USA
Posts: 5,399
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

I'm guessing that you have multiple instances of the same banner type, as opposed to one banner type, and then stacking the images in the "Edit banner content" sub-page

For example -- if you have a top banner set to home page, there should ONLY be one entry.
THEN -- in banner content, that's where you stack up your images.

Am I making sense?

The docs are pretty clear...
http://help.x-cart.com/index.php?title=X-Cart:Banner_System

Hope this helps.

J
__________________
xcart 4.5.4 gold+ w/x-payments 1.0.6; xcart gold 4.4.4
Reply With Quote

The following 2 users thank carpeperdiem for this useful post:
Holdmusic34 (05-26-2013), tartaglia (05-31-2013)
  #3  
Old 05-26-2013, 07:01 AM
 
Holdmusic34 Holdmusic34 is offline
 

Member
  
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

Hi Carpe,

Thanks for the prompt reply. I definitely have only one banner>Top.
The banner images are loaded in banner content. I have done it as per the docs and scoured x cart mod forums.
Other banner mods have come up with problems with ioncube not being provided by the host...

First image postion 10.
Second image position 20.
__________________
X Cart 4.5.5 Gold Plus
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2013, 10:45 PM
 
Holdmusic34 Holdmusic34 is offline
 

Member
  
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

I really think the banner module in my installation is faulty.
Doesn't matter what image size or format (jpeg/png) is used.
The end date of the banner always resets to 01/01/1970.
There is no colour coding for active/inactive banners (because end date always resets to the past)

The modules and code on my server match the unzipped X cart 5.5.5 Gold Plus folder.
__________________
X Cart 4.5.5 Gold Plus
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-26-2013, 11:02 PM
 
Holdmusic34 Holdmusic34 is offline
 

Member
  
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

The answer is:
Disable 'Use speed-up tool for Javascript' in Settings> General Settings> Optimization settings.

Not documented.
__________________
X Cart 4.5.5 Gold Plus
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:05 AM
  elaine's Avatar 
elaine elaine is offline
 

X-Cart team
  
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 166
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holdmusic34
The answer is:
Disable 'Use speed-up tool for Javascript' in Settings> General Settings> Optimization settings.

Not documented.

Thank you for sharing you findings. I'm glad to know that the issue is solved. Our maintenance team will look into the problem. Once they confirm it, we will go ahead and will do the needful.

Thanks again,
Elena
__________________
X-Cart team
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:10 AM
 
carpeperdiem carpeperdiem is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York City, USA
Posts: 5,399
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holdmusic34
The answer is:
Disable 'Use speed-up tool for Javascript' in Settings> General Settings> Optimization settings.

Not documented.

No.
This is not the solution.
May I suggest enabling this very important function, then run cleanup.php

yourstore.com/cleanup.php

you may have a caching issue that needs to be cleared out?
__________________
xcart 4.5.4 gold+ w/x-payments 1.0.6; xcart gold 4.4.4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2013, 11:17 AM
  elaine's Avatar 
elaine elaine is offline
 

X-Cart team
  
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 166
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

Please note that you should use your Auth code to run cleanup.php in the latest X-Cart version: http://help.x-cart.com/index.php?title=X-Cart:Advanced_Tools#Clear_Templates.2FX-Cart_Cache

Alternatively you can do it via the admin area (Tools -> Maintenance -> Clear templates/X-Cart cache)
__________________
X-Cart team
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:08 AM
 
Holdmusic34 Holdmusic34 is offline
 

Member
  
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

Thank you for your replies.

I have undertaken cleanup as intructed to no avail.

First, made change to 'java speed up', ran cleanup.php (with auth)(success), no difference ,and then also ran 'clear templates/ X cart cache.'

As soon as that java setting is applied it knocks it over. (in my code anyway!)
__________________
X Cart 4.5.5 Gold Plus
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2013, 12:33 AM
  cflsystems's Avatar 
cflsystems cflsystems is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13,615
 

Default Re: Banner System> Banner Effect

Unfortunately no matter what QT says the speedup tools still do not work properly in some cases and fail to load. This has been a problem since day one but back in time when they were introduced it was way worst. Now it happens in some cases - I still can't find pattern or some sort of server config that makes it fail.

XC cache features, not only speedup tool, still do not work properly. The best you can do if they do not work for you is to disable speedup tools and use other service like minify or similar to speed up page load
__________________
Steve Stoyanov
CFLSystems.com
Web Development
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > Considering X-Cart > Considering using X-Cart for my project


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:44 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2018