Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls
 

Trying to get DHTML menu to show.

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #11  
Old 03-10-2005, 12:59 PM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

Read the instructions for that menu very carefully. You need to put some of that script in the <head> tag of home.tpl, some of it where you actually want the menu to display, and some more still before the closing <body> tag in home.tpl. You also need to upload the .js files to the x-cart directory. I usually put them in the root, easier to call that way.
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-10-2005, 02:30 PM
  KCAutosound's Avatar 
KCAutosound KCAutosound is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 220
 

Default

well I tried to place this code between the <head> tags
Code:
{literal} <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">var ace_path = ''; </script> <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript" src="acemenu_loader.js"> </script> {literal}

then I replaced { include file="customer/categories.tpl" } with

Code:
{literal} <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript" src="kcamenu.js"></script> {/literal}

then just before the </body> tag I placed

Code:
{literal} <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">ACEDisplayMenu(); </script> <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">ACECreateMenu();onload=ACELoadMenu; </script> {/literal}

but still nothing. Like brain surgery to me man..lol This is about the only thing keeping my site from going live.
__________________
X-Cart version 4.7.6 Gold
xcartmods.co.uk - Ultra Template
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-10-2005, 02:42 PM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

Ok, you are close. You have the head right, but you have one extra line in the footer. This should go in categories.tpl:

Code:
{literal} <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript" src="kcamenu.js"></script> <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">ACEDisplayMenu(); </script>{/literal}

the one before the body should only be this:

Code:
{literal} <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">ACECreateMenu();onload=ACELoadMenu; </script> {/literal}

You might also have to change the var ace_path='' depending on where you put the javascript files. Same thing for where the acemenu_loader.js is.

If you get totally and completely stuck after trying these fixes, PM me and I can help you out...I've done a ton of these things. But try it out for yourself first.....
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:11 PM
  KCAutosound's Avatar 
KCAutosound KCAutosound is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 220
 

Default

Oh the suspense... almost there!!!

I left the code above the tag alone

Code:
<LINK rel="stylesheet" href="{$SkinDir}/tabs.css"> {literal} <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">var ace_path = ''; </script> <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript" src="acemenu_loader.js"> </script> {/literal} </HEAD> <BODY leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" rightmargin="0" bottomargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">

Just before the </body> tag.

Code:
</TABLE> { include file="rectangle_bottom.tpl" } {literal} <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">ACECreateMenu();onload=ACELoadMenu; </script> {/literal} </BODY> </HTML>

I did move that code to the categories.tpl file

Code:
{* $Id: categories.tpl,v 1.23 2004/06/24 09:53:29 max Exp $ *} {capture name=menu} {literal} <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript" src="kcamenu.js"></script> <script language="JavaScript1.2" type="text/javascript">ACEDisplayMenu(); </script>{/literal} {/capture} { include file="menu.tpl" dingbats="dingbats_categorie.gif" menu_title=$lng.lbl_categories menu_content=$smarty.capture.menu }

I have went as far as placing the kcamenu.js and acemenu_loader.js files in every directory from root on..lol but still no menu showing.

Not quite sure on what setting I should have on that ace_path='' line though.
__________________
X-Cart version 4.7.6 Gold
xcartmods.co.uk - Ultra Template
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:52 PM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

Ok, try this...put the required files in skin1/. Now change the head tags to read like this:

Code:
{literal}<script language="JavaScript1.2">var ace_path = 'skin1/';</script> <script language="JavaScript1.2" src="skin1/acemenu_loader.js"></script> {/literal}
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:09 PM
  KCAutosound's Avatar 
KCAutosound KCAutosound is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 220
 

Default

doh!!!! No such luck.
__________________
X-Cart version 4.7.6 Gold
xcartmods.co.uk - Ultra Template
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:51 PM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

PM me and I can take a look for you...
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:23 PM
 
garry garry is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wolverhampton UK
Posts: 102
 

Default

I always put all the menu files in the root and the file that calls the menu in skin1, and then call the required file e.g.

{include file="menu.htm"}

Using this method there is no ned for the literal tags and always shows (well so far anyway)
__________________
Garry


http://www.natralife.co.uk


X-Cart Gold version 4.5.4
PHP 5.3.18
MySQL client 5.0.96
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:52 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020