Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Override XC/ProductVariant behavior and admin/customer content

X-Cart forums > X-Cart 5 > Dev Questions (X-Cart 5)

Old 09-12-2017, 07:18 PM

Question Override XC/ProductVariant behavior and admin/customer content

I'm new to X-Cart, though impressed with the high level of abstraction and encapsulation in the latest v5.3 release. I'm trying to figure out how to modify the store to include in critical feature for the way that I sell things, and I'd greatly appreciate some pointers to get me started. I've reviewed the developer docs, but it seems that they are mainly written for v5.2, and there are just enough changes in v5.3 that the existing resources aren't getting me over the hurdle of initial comprehension. I picked exactly the wrong time to dive into development.

To summarize my need, I have a variety of wireless module breakout boards, each with a least two and sometimes four or five variants. The attributes that define each variant need to be chosen in order, i.e. displayed or not based on a conditional hierarchy (feature #1). Also, variant stock left blank (i.e. default) needs to be calculated based on the hierarchy (feature #2), and some low-order attributes need to avoid limiting or subtracting stock (feature #3). I have product variants set up and working, but the behavior is too limited in light of what I need.

For a live example, you can visit the following page which illustrates the requirement:

https://www.jetney.com/x/ble113.html

There are three attributes: Type, Flash Size, and Firmware. They should have the following hierarchy:

- Type: PCB Only (stock qty defined, flash/firmware set to N/A)
- Type: Assembled (stock qty defined, should be = 128k+256k stock)
--- Flash Size: 128k (stock qty defined)
----- Firmware: Standard (stock qty NOT defined, =parent qty)
----- Firmware: Custom (stock qty NOT defined, =parent qty)