Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Auto-email customers with abandoned carts?

X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Third Party Add-Ons for X-Cart 4

Old 06-04-2007, 09:54 AM

Default Auto-email customers with abandoned carts?

Some of my competitors automagically send out polite inquiry emails within an hour or so if you start a cart in their shop and then abandon it. I would love to have this too, especially since I'm relatively new to x-cart and don't have a good idea of why carts get abandoned on my site (other than the Canadian shipping issue). Does anyone offer this kind of mod?
Old 06-04-2007, 10:36 AM

Veteran

Default Re: Auto-email customers with abandoned carts?

This is highly "illegal" in today's e-mail world. Technically, you are only allowed to send an e-mail to someone if:

a. They bought something form your site and you are contacting them about their order.

b. They opted in to a mailing list

c. They contacted you requesting information

If a customer started a cart, they may have a million reasons to abandon it, but sending them any kind of e-mail about it is not a good idea.
Old 06-05-2007, 11:53 AM

Hi all,

I do use this feature on a OSC site and it realy works! I know that there might be a problem when people find it spam, but so far in the last two years that I use I I never had complaints. But sending this kind of mail helped met to 1- improve my service and 2- increase my sales.

I someone has a feature like this please leave a message

Mark
Old 06-06-2007, 12:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by blakekr
Some of my competitors automagically send out polite inquiry emails within an hour or so if you start a cart in their shop and then abandon it. I would love to have this too, especially since I'm relatively new to x-cart and don't have a good idea of why carts get abandoned on my site (other than the Canadian shipping issue). Does anyone offer this kind of mod?