Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

X-Cart v4.5.4 released

 
Closed Thread
   X-Cart forums > News and Announcements
 
Thread Tools
  #91  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:00 AM
  RichieRich's Avatar 
RichieRich RichieRich is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 750
 

Default Re: X-Cart v4.5.4 released

I am not talking about the Checkout page. I am talking about the Cart page.

If you look at the bottom of the cart page, the option of State/County is still active.

Destination: London , Greater London , United Kingdom ,
Change

Now if you are deciding not to use in your checkout or any other user type, why would it still remain in the shop?
__________________
Richard


Ultimate 5.4 testing
  #92  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:13 AM
 
MacPOS MacPOS is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
 

Default Re: X-Cart v4.5.4 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by CenturyPerf
Any other reason why I should NOT start looking for a replacement for X-Cart? After this many years I'm feeling that I have reached my tolerance limit.

Am I venting? Absofreakingloutly!

Damn, after my experiences with their hosting and now reading this, I feel I may have made a big mistake!
__________________
v4.5.4 X-Cart
  #93  
Old 01-23-2013, 06:26 AM
 
carpeperdiem carpeperdiem is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York City, USA
Posts: 5,399
 

Default Re: X-Cart v4.5.4 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacPOS
Damn, after my experiences with their hosting and now reading this, I feel I may have made a big mistake!

In my opinion, I would be using a host who is not only an xcart specialist, but also a hosting specialist. Ask your current host what happens if there is hardware failure. How many data centers do they have hardware in and relationships? What if the DC with your server has a fire? It happened to me (before I was with Hands-on) and I was down for days. Since we have redundant backups, if the DC with my server now goes off-line, I could be back online as soon as dns propagates.

I use Hands-on VPS.
Satisfied is an understatement.
__________________
xcart 4.5.4 gold+ w/x-payments 1.0.6; xcart gold 4.4.4
  #94  
Old 01-23-2013, 06:28 AM
 
carpeperdiem carpeperdiem is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York City, USA
Posts: 5,399
 

Default Re: X-Cart v4.5.4 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichieRich
If you look at the bottom of the cart page, the option of State/County is still active.

Destination: London , Greater London , United Kingdom ,
Change

Look at your shipping zones settings. Sounds like you have counties included in a shipping zone.
__________________
xcart 4.5.4 gold+ w/x-payments 1.0.6; xcart gold 4.4.4
  #95  
Old 01-23-2013, 06:40 AM
 
MacPOS MacPOS is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
 

Default Re: X-Cart v4.5.4 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by carpeperdiem
In my opinion, I would be using a host who is not only an xcart specialist, but also a hosting specialist. Ask your current host what happens if there is hardware failure. How many data centers do they have hardware in and relationships? What if the DC with your server has a fire? It happened to me (before I was with Hands-on) and I was down for days. Since we have redundant backups, if the DC with my server now goes off-line, I could be back online as soon as dns propagates.

I use Hands-on VPS.
Satisfied is an understatement.


I will be switching to Hands-on. Hopefully X-Cart hosting will work for the few days it will take to make the switch.
__________________
v4.5.4 X-Cart
  #96  
Old 01-29-2013, 12:00 PM
  RichieRich's Avatar 
RichieRich RichieRich is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 750
 

Default Re: X-Cart v4.5.4 released

There appears to be a default behaviour error with the add-to-cart button where a variant is sold out. Customer selects Medium size, which is out of stock, add-to-cart button is still displayed, but then tells customer once they click add-to-cart that they cannot buy that item! wow

If there is no inventory, how can the add-to-cart button exist for 0 quantity? Default should be to not display when not in stock. Also confusing with the product notification button. If you switch to the Medium size, it still displays add-to-cart but also a button for remind customer when in stock is displayed by ajax. Why doesnt it hide the add-to-cart button at that time? because you dont have any choice anyway to use that button.

Customer is left with a situation where they are hitting a brick wall and then crawling around it, they want the item so they are always going to click add-to-cart if it is there.

Imagine you have 10 variants and 9 are not there, customer will have to go to each one and click add-to-cart to find if there is 1 in stock.

I think this is assuming out of stock items are not disabled, I have not checked that. I do not like to disable products in case it comes back into stock, it is still accessible in search engines. Also I can make a coming soon section where you list some items which are not available yet.

A further improvement is to have an option that you are not selecting a variant by default, this is biast and choosing for the customer in some cases. Instead a fist line of "select size" for example, then the customer knows they have to do something. Rather than leave them on Small size by default. The price once on default select-size should then be $lowest option-$highest option. At the moment it is just going to tell the customer $x and then they will discover the largest size is going to be higher price once they click on it. Bad behaviour. Any many do not look again at the price and then see it went up somewhere and could be put off. Its not clear at all.

The variants should also be with some kind of ajax links in columns which will then update the product information. At the moment, the variants/options are all hidden in a drop down menu! When the customer lands on the page, you are not showing them the sizes, you are saying click another thing to see the sizes, and then whilst you click on that keep your eye on the price at the same time, because it could change. Why not show the price next to the variants or control this more clearly.

Still lots of improvement necessary for the options and variants from my observation, and please can it be included in the distribution upgrade, not sold as X-Variants for $165 seperately. These ideas were just given free of charge and the software needs to come a bit more up to scratch in the standard package for all.
__________________
Richard


Ultimate 5.4 testing
  #97  
Old 02-12-2013, 06:16 AM
  RichieRich's Avatar 
RichieRich RichieRich is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 750
 

Default Re: X-Cart v4.5.4 released

i noticed 4.5.5 was out, but i cant see any post about it
__________________
Richard


Ultimate 5.4 testing
  #98  
Old 02-12-2013, 08:11 PM
  cflsystems's Avatar 
cflsystems cflsystems is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,078
 

Default Re: X-Cart v4.5.4 released

http://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=66094
__________________
Steve Stoyanov
CFLSystems.com
Web Development

The following 2 users thank cflsystems for this useful post:
qualiteam (06-04-2013), seyfin (02-13-2013)
Closed Thread
   X-Cart forums > News and Announcements


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:08 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020