Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls
 

Speed Bar Custumizing

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-21-2004, 11:15 PM
  rjcbear's Avatar 
rjcbear rjcbear is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alabama,U.S.A
Posts: 503
 

Default Speed Bar Custumizing

Well good people,

Here is what I am trying to do.

I have created 2 buttons on the speed bar let's call it "A" and "B". What I want this options do is once you click the text a new window will pop-up with the following dimemsion WD=500 and HG=690 for both buttons.

Each options will display different information.

Button A will display an image called heelchart.jpg
Button B will display a HTML page called sizechart.html

How do I do that? or is it much easier to accomplish the same thing else where?

Thanks in advance

Kind regard,
Ricky
__________________
X-CART Gold version 4.0.14 & 4.1.11
Apache Version 1.3.29 (Unix)
EWDHosting-Quality X-cart Hosting
We will always sell you the right shoe and the left one is free.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:16 AM
 
abdera abdera is offline
 

Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: lost in code purgatory
Posts: 26
 

Default

You can instead create a static page that will show up under the "Help" box on the left side, you've done this before since you have "Member Benefits" and at least one other page you've added or modified.

ie: Create a static page labeled "What's my size?"

Then you can change the label from "Help" to "Info" or something like that. In your product descriptions you can tell customers to "Click on "What's my size?" button on the left side if you are unsure of your size," or something similar.

This would help you do what you want and leave the speed bar as-is, and no coding is to the speed bar is required.

There's lots of good articles/posts about doing static pages on the site and in the manual already, and I was able to create one with this info (It looks very crude: I must learn a more HTML), but it works like a champ.

Note that when changing the label the "Help" is located in two places that I found: The Label you see on the main store page as the title to the box, plus another if you click on the word "Help" itself in that same box; it takes you to the "Help" zone. You want to change that label also.

By the way cool site
__________________
v3.5.11 Live, X-AOM, Linux
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:33 AM
  rjcbear's Avatar 
rjcbear rjcbear is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alabama,U.S.A
Posts: 503
 

Default

abdera;

Yes I can do that but I wanted to be on top so every body can see with easy.

I will be putting that information on the bar below the Logo where "search" and "select a language" is located.

Kind regards,
Ricky
__________________
X-CART Gold version 4.0.14 & 4.1.11
Apache Version 1.3.29 (Unix)
EWDHosting-Quality X-cart Hosting
We will always sell you the right shoe and the left one is free.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:54 AM
 
abdera abdera is offline
 

Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: lost in code purgatory
Posts: 26
 

Default

Ok, I get want you want I think.

I have a static page as metioned in the last post. I just created a speed bar link to it under the Admin::Speedbar area. I think might do what you want, since when I click on the speed bar label, it takes me to the static page.

However, it is not a pop-up: the customer needs to hit the back button to return to the product listing.
__________________
v3.5.11 Live, X-AOM, Linux
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2004, 10:16 AM
  rjcbear's Avatar 
rjcbear rjcbear is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alabama,U.S.A
Posts: 503
 

Default

do you have a link to that page on your site?

If you do maight I see it.


Thank you for the complement on your first reply. Is getting where I like and that will be it.

Kind regards,
Ricky
__________________
X-CART Gold version 4.0.14 & 4.1.11
Apache Version 1.3.29 (Unix)
EWDHosting-Quality X-cart Hosting
We will always sell you the right shoe and the left one is free.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2004, 12:12 PM
 
QVS QVS is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 136
 

Default

does anyone actually know how to make the page pop up from the speed bar?

any help would be greatly appreciated

__________________
xcart version 4.1.6
UK - Brighton

QVS ELECTRICAL SUPPLIES - http://www.qvsdirect.com

We supply a huge range of cables, electrical accessories, heating, ventilation, fire and security products, consumer units & circuit distribution, indoor and outdoor lighting, showers and water heating, tools and fixings, timer switches, sockets, switches, air conditioning, trunking, and much much more.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2004, 12:35 PM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

Well, I can't give you EXACT instructions, but I can tell you how I think it would work in theory!

1. You could use javascript....a variation of Boomer's detailed image popup perhaps?

2. You could use the onClick function. I'm not sure how Smarty will interepret this, but the code in a 'normal' link would look something like this:

Code:
<a href="{ImagesDir}/imagename.jpg" onClick="window.open('{ImagesDir}/imagename.jpg','','scrollbars=no,resizable=no, width=500,height=690,menubar=no,toolbar=no');return false;" target="_blank">

Again, I have not tried this, so it is just an idea. Maybe someone else can chime in here....
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2004, 03:18 PM
  shan's Avatar 
shan shan is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 6,163
 

Default

or something like this

Code:
{literal} <script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript"> <!-- function MM_openBrWindow(theURL,winName,features) { //v2.0 window.open(theURL,winName,features); } //--> </script> {/literal} <a onClick="MM_openBrWindow('popup_window.php','popupname','width=400,height=275')" >Click Here</a>
__________________
Looking for a reliable X-cart host ?
You wont go wrong with either of these.

EWD Hosting
Hands On Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2004, 03:25 PM
 
balinor balinor is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 30,253
 

Default

See, I knew I had the right idea
__________________
Padraic Ryan
Ryan Design Studio
Professional E-Commerce Development
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:13 AM
 
EZ EZ is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 96
 

Default New Window

Is it possible to only make 1 or 2 speed bar buttons open up in it's own browser window? I want to put a couple of links to my other sites but want them to open in new windows.

Thanks
__________________
Never believe anything you hear and only half of what you see!

Edward J Ziejka
www.innervisionpc.com
X-Cart Gold 4.1.3
Unix
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:42 PM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020