Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls
 

Change the Featured Products Title Only?

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-11-2004, 02:03 PM
 
Ryano Ryano is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 192
 

Default Change the Featured Products Title Only?

Does anyone know if there is a way to change the title "Featured Products" to a different font and color without affecting the other products' fonts and colors?
__________________
xcart v3.5.8 (Unix)
and
xcart v4.0.13
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2004, 04:07 PM
  lildawg's Avatar 
lildawg lildawg is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 686
 

Default

I would think you could just copy the .tpl file that is used for it then rename the copy you would then need to edit the featured products.php file I would guess and tell it to instead of pulling the old .tpl file to grab the new one. On you rnew tpl file you would hard code those parts instead of using css. I am not sure but if I was doing it I would start with looking into it this way. Anyone else know?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2004, 07:48 PM
  BCSE's Avatar 
BCSE BCSE is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio - bcsengineering.com
Posts: 3,063
 

Default

I would just create a new style in the style sheet for featured products (example NewDialogTitle) and have it reference that class instead by editing the dialog.tpl and in this line:

Code:
<TD height=15 class=DialogTitle background="{$ImagesDir}/dialog_bg_n.gif" valign=bottom>{$title}</TD>

Edit it to have something like:
Code:
<TD height=15 {if $title eq $lng.lbl_featured_products } class=NewDialogTitle {else} class=DialogTitle {/if} background="{$ImagesDir}/dialog_bg_n.gif" valign=bottom>{$title}</TD>

This is NOT tested, so I'm not sure if it will work, but it should be a start and keep you from hard coding anything.

Backup first!

Carrie
__________________
Custom Development, Custom Coding and Pre-built modules for X-cart since 2002!

We support X-cart versions 3.x through 5.x!

Home of the famous Authorize.net DPM & CIM Modules, Reward Points Module, Point of Sale module, Speed Booster modules and more!


Over 200 X-cart Mods available & Thousands of Customizations Since 2002 - bcsengineering.com

Please E-Mail us for questions/support!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2004, 09:39 PM
 
Ryano Ryano is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 192
 

Default

I don't know enough at this point about php to be able to test it out. I'm still very new to x-cart. If someone else has free time and wants to test it out, that would be great. Thanks for the tip though Carrie.
__________________
xcart v3.5.8 (Unix)
and
xcart v4.0.13
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2004, 03:18 AM
  BCSE's Avatar 
BCSE BCSE is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio - bcsengineering.com
Posts: 3,063
 

Default

I tested it out, it works. Just add a new line like this in the CSS:

Code:
.NewDialogTitle { BACKGROUND-COLOR: #FFFFFF; COLOR: #000000; FONT: bold 11px; }

And change the style properties above to what ever you want and use the code above in skin1/dialog.tpl

It's all smarty, no php involved in this change.

Carrie
__________________
Custom Development, Custom Coding and Pre-built modules for X-cart since 2002!

We support X-cart versions 3.x through 5.x!

Home of the famous Authorize.net DPM & CIM Modules, Reward Points Module, Point of Sale module, Speed Booster modules and more!


Over 200 X-cart Mods available & Thousands of Customizations Since 2002 - bcsengineering.com

Please E-Mail us for questions/support!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2004, 09:18 AM
 
Ryano Ryano is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 192
 

Default

Thanks Carrie! I entered this into the dialog tpl, but it's not working on my side. I probably did something wrong:

Code:
{* $Id: dialog.tpl,v 1.15 2003/11/14 07:28:30 svowl Exp $ *} <TABLE border=0 cellPadding=0 cellSpacing=0 {$extra}> <TR> <TD height=15 {if $title eq $lng.lbl_featured_products } class=NewDialogTitle {else} class=DialogTitle {/if}background="{$ImagesDir}/dialog_bg_n.gif"*} valign=bottom>{$title}</TD> </TR> <TR><TD class=DialogBorder><TABLE border=0 cellPadding=10 cellSpacing=1 width="100%"> <TR><TD class=DialogBox>{$content} </TD></TR> </TABLE></TD></TR> </TABLE>

here is a cutout from my skin1css:
Code:
} .VertMenuItems:active { COLOR: #081589; TEXT-DECORATION: none; } .VertMenuHr { COLOR: #999999; } .CategoriesList { FONT-SIZE: 13px; } .NewDialogTitle { BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000; COLOR: #ff0000; FONT: bold 19px; } .DialogBox { BACKGROUND-COLOR: #FFFFFF; } .DialogBorder { BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000;

I put spaces in between the code so that I could find it easier. Did I do something wrong here? Thanks a lot for your help.
__________________
xcart v3.5.8 (Unix)
and
xcart v4.0.13
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2004, 05:26 PM
  BCSE's Avatar 
BCSE BCSE is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio - bcsengineering.com
Posts: 3,063
 

Default

Try taking out the *} after:
dialog_bg_n.gif"

See if that helps.

Carrie
__________________
Custom Development, Custom Coding and Pre-built modules for X-cart since 2002!

We support X-cart versions 3.x through 5.x!

Home of the famous Authorize.net DPM & CIM Modules, Reward Points Module, Point of Sale module, Speed Booster modules and more!


Over 200 X-cart Mods available & Thousands of Customizations Since 2002 - bcsengineering.com

Please E-Mail us for questions/support!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2004, 10:47 PM
 
Ryano Ryano is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 192
 

Default

Thanks. I tried that out....forgot I had that there. But it still didn't work after I took it out. wonder why it doesn't work?
__________________
xcart v3.5.8 (Unix)
and
xcart v4.0.13
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2004, 04:23 AM
  BCSE's Avatar 
BCSE BCSE is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio - bcsengineering.com
Posts: 3,063
 

Default

Are you getting any errors? What version of X-cart?

Carrie
__________________
Custom Development, Custom Coding and Pre-built modules for X-cart since 2002!

We support X-cart versions 3.x through 5.x!

Home of the famous Authorize.net DPM & CIM Modules, Reward Points Module, Point of Sale module, Speed Booster modules and more!


Over 200 X-cart Mods available & Thousands of Customizations Since 2002 - bcsengineering.com

Please E-Mail us for questions/support!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2004, 08:10 PM
 
Ryano Ryano is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 192
 

Default

No, I'm not getting any errors...it's just basically ignoring the changes it seems like and still uses the default setup. I will play around a little more with it tonight. Thanks Carrie.
__________________
xcart v3.5.8 (Unix)
and
xcart v4.0.13
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:04 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020