Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Want a WYSIWYG detailed description text area?

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #21  
Old 05-05-2004, 05:17 AM
  shan's Avatar 
shan shan is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 6,163
 

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovico
Word of warning, the latest versions of x-cart will remove the HTML tags in those fields, so the above mod shouldn't be installed on 3.5.6 or above until x-cart allow HTML fields again...

http://forum.x-cart.com/viewtopic.php?t=10054&highlight=
__________________
Looking for a reliable X-cart host ?
You wont go wrong with either of these.

EWD Hosting
Hands On Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-07-2004, 01:32 AM
 
guileroy guileroy is offline
 

Newbie
  
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3
 

Default

Hello,

I've just installed htmlarea on a 3.5.7 version and it seems to work, but I have to refresh the page few time in order to get the detailled description field with htmlarea, and if i refresh again the last version came ... strange ...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-07-2004, 12:51 PM
 
PhilJ PhilJ is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,094
 

Default

Update: now works for me after refreshing the page a few times :P

Also if you want to use it for updating the static pages...

find admin/main/page_edit.tpl

and stick

Code:
<script language="JavaScript1.2" defer> editor_generate('pagecontent'); </script>

at the top.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-07-2004, 12:53 PM
 
John7 John7 is offline
 

Senior Member
  
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 136
 

Default Well

I've actually had this mod working for months and months.

I was planning on posting it here one day but looks like you beat me to it.

I've also been working on implementing HTML Area into the category description area but whenever I do this the whole description field show sup blank. As an experiment I stuck in on the category meta tag area and it work. Strange huh?

If anyone is interested I've also got HTML area to work on the template editor and the html page creator. (but the built in html creator eats all the meta tags)

Oh also HTML Area may destroy your style sheets.


ALSO: I'd just like to thank all the masters such as FunkyDunk and the other for all their help and inspiration. FunkyDunk most of all since he's been such a great help and inspiration to me.


[/b]
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-15-2004, 01:24 PM
 
Adian009 Adian009 is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tiverton, RI, USA
Posts: 37
 

Default Fix for document.all issue

Put the call to editor_generate in the <td> for the full description - I am running 3.5.7 and it should look like this:

Quote:
<td valign="top" class=ProductDetails>
{* 5/14/2004 by Al Ponte: Added the following script to enable HTML Edit Area for full description. *}
<script language="JavaScript1.2" defer>
editor_generate('fulldescr');
</script>
{* 5/14/2004: END OF MOD SPACE. ADDED THIS BLOCK, JUST DELETE TO REMOVE. *}
<textarea name="fulldescr" cols="45" rows="10">
{ $product.fulldescr|replace:"
":"\n"|escape:"html"}</textarea>
</td>

I am having an issue - it keeps asking me if I want to display the insecure objects and I am using an HTTPS for my editor path. Any suggestions on that one?

--al ponte
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Infosolv, LLC
A Professional Services Company
X-Cart v3.5.10 & 4.01
Find our MOD\'s at: Custom X-Cart MOD\'s, Add-On\'s & X-Cart Hosting!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-01-2004, 12:57 PM
 
nerd luv nerd luv is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 58
 

Default

Very useful time saver. Thank you!
__________________
Always happy to Paypal over some money for X-Cart solutions. I need to get this store running! Help!
--Testing 3.5.8, heavily modified, Linux, Apache 1.3.31, PHP 4.3.4--
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-01-2004, 04:54 PM
 
POSDepot POSDepot is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 52
 

Default

Yup.

That works for me.

Thanks
Randy
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-02-2004, 03:14 AM
 
junaid junaid is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 96
 

Default

works here also..thanks for such a nice mod
__________________
xcart 4.18 on linux
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:21 AM
  groovico's Avatar 
groovico groovico is offline
 

X-Man
  
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Firetanksoftware.com
Posts: 2,326
 

Default

One thing to keep in mind when using HTML in your product descriptions is it can screw with the import/export via CSV. I've added various wysiwyg editors all over some of my clients x-cart sites and the export/import failed alot depending on what characters the html desc field had in it.

Royal pain in the bahookee!

Hope x-cart 4 has some additional exporting/importing options for the csv format by default.
__________________
Groovico

Used by X-carters the world over:
Marketing Manager Pro Bundle For X-cart
Featured Product Manager for X-cart
Feed manager pro for X-cart

http://www.firetanksoftware.com

Celebrating 7 Years of providing quality X-cart Add ons and X-cart Mods for x-cart 3.X to X-cart 4.4.X
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-02-2004, 08:44 AM
 
GM GM is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 293
 

Default

Code:
I am having an issue - it keeps asking me if I want to display the insecure objects and I am using an HTTPS for my editor path. Any suggestions on that one?

GM
in editor.js change line var richedit... to:

var RichEdit = '<iframe src="' + _editor_url + 'popups/blank.html' + '" ID="_' +objname+ '_editor" style="width:' +editor_obj.style.width+ '; height:' +editor_obj.style.height+ ';"></iframe>';


1) make the popups/blank.html not just "<html></html>"
but rather "<html><body></body></html>"

2) htmlarea.js: after this line:
var iframe = document.createElement("iframe");
(should be around line 376) the following:
iframe.src = this.popupURL("blank.html");

3) Fixing the same issue for the Spell Checker pluging:
3.1 cp popups/blank.html plugins/SpellChecker/
3.2 in plugins/SpellChecker/spell-check-ui.html
replace the line:
<iframe src="about:blank" width="100%" height="100%"
with the following:
<iframe src="blank.html" width="100%" height="100%"

I picked this up on some htmlarea forum.
__________________
v. 4.0.14 (GM Style)
O.S. Linux
Build Your Own Diamond Ring
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:45 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020