Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Categories menu flyout - hide dropdowns

 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-19-2006, 04:57 AM
  NightFire's Avatar 
NightFire NightFire is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 561
 

Default Categories menu flyout - hide dropdowns

Hi All,

At one of our sites we're using a css style for our categories. Not the fancy categories but pure css.
In firefox this menu for the categories is working perfect, but in internet explorer the dropdown boxes of the products are displaying trough the menu's.
See screenshot:

http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/6035/cssmenutm5dk.jpg

Anyone an idea how to fix this?
__________________
Best regards,
Niki Buitenrust Hettema

X-Cart Gold 4.1.8 (Live & Loaded)
Royal Bhaktapur: Handmade products from Nepal - Pashmina's, scarfs, shawls, stola's and more...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:35 AM
  B00MER's Avatar 
B00MER B00MER is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Keller, TX (Cart-Lab.com)
Posts: 3,165
 

Default

A Not so simple fix:

Edit skin1/modules/Fancy_Categories/(style)/menumanagement.js Add this function at the bottom of the file:
Code:
function hideSelects(action) { //documentation for this script at http://www.shawnolson.net/a/1198/ //possible values for action are 'hidden' and 'visible' if (action!='visible'){action='hidden';} if (navigator.appName.indexOf("MSIE")) { for (var S = 0; S < document.forms.length; S++){ for (var R = 0; R < document.forms[S].length; R++) { if (document.forms[S].elements[R].options) { document.forms[S].elements[R].style.visibility = action; } } } } }

Next within the same file search for:
Code:
hideMenu(menuId,submenuId);

AFTER this line add:
Code:
hideSelects('hidden');

Next still within the same file search for:
Code:
menuObj.layer.hide();

AFTER this line add:
Code:
hideSelects('visible');

Search again for:
Code:
menuObj.layer.hide();

and add another entry AFTER it:
Code:
hideSelects('visible');

This will remove all Dropdown selectors from the page if the fancy categories are being used, returning once the user is not mousing over them.

Personally I think this should be standard in Fancy Categories.

I'm gonna move this to Custom Mods area as well.
__________________
Cart-Lab - 100+ Social Bookmarks for X-Cart.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:48 AM
  NightFire's Avatar 
NightFire NightFire is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 561
 

Default

Thanks B00MER for the fix. I think alot of people using the fancy cats will like this fix. But unfortunately I'm not using the fancy cats, its slows the site down. Thats why I'm using a pure css menu, not the fancy cats. Maybe I didn't clarify that clearly enough in my first post.

As I'm using pure css, is there also a fix like that to solve this problem?

Thanks.
__________________
Best regards,
Niki Buitenrust Hettema

X-Cart Gold 4.1.8 (Live & Loaded)
Royal Bhaktapur: Handmade products from Nepal - Pashmina's, scarfs, shawls, stola's and more...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:58 AM
  B00MER's Avatar 
B00MER B00MER is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Keller, TX (Cart-Lab.com)
Posts: 3,165
 

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightFire
Thanks B00MER for the fix. I think alot of people using the fancy cats will like this fix. But unfortunately I'm not using the fancy cats, its slows the site down. Thats why I'm using a pure css menu, not the fancy cats. Maybe I didn't clarify that clearly enough in my first post.

As I'm using pure css, is there also a fix like that to solve this problem?

Thanks.

Javascript is the only approach to disable this so you'll need to use the onMouseOver & onMouseOut javascript handlers in your CSS HTML tags (probably div's?) to hide the dropdowns accordingly.

I would agree, Fancy Cats adds HUGE amount of overhead, especially in filesize if you have a large category taxonmy. Not to mention the adverse effects it will have on Search Spiders.
__________________
Cart-Lab - 100+ Social Bookmarks for X-Cart.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:04 PM
 
PhilJ PhilJ is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,094
 

Default

Niki, I'll try and fix this in the next version.

It's an IE only problem... the solution is to put an IFRAME behind the DIV layer.

More info...
http://weblogs.asp.net/bleroy/archive/2005/08/09/422047.aspx
__________________
xcartmods.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2006, 09:53 PM
 
webtron webtron is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 64
 

Default

Has this been fixed if I was to buy the fancy category addon from x-cart?
__________________
Thanks to for your comments/help.
X-cart Version 4.0.17
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2006, 11:09 PM
  B00MER's Avatar 
B00MER B00MER is offline
 

X-Guru
  
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Keller, TX (Cart-Lab.com)
Posts: 3,165
 

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by webtron
Has this been fixed if I was to buy the fancy category addon from x-cart?

Not that I'm aware of. Just use the code I posted previously if not.
__________________
Cart-Lab - 100+ Social Bookmarks for X-Cart.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-13-2006, 06:13 PM
 
webtron webtron is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 64
 

Default

Thanks Boomer. Will take a look at it.
__________________
Thanks to for your comments/help.
X-cart Version 4.0.17
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:16 AM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2020