Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Different product description tpl's according to category?

X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions > Changing design

Old 12-04-2003, 03:56 PM

Advanced Member

Default Different product description tpl's according to category?

Hi,
I'm fairly new to X-cart Б─⌠ I've been setting up my first store for a few weeks now. The store carries a pretty diverse inventory and I would like to be able to customize the "product description" template to provide different options for certain categories of products.

For example:
One of our categories is jewelry chain, bought by the foot. I would like to simply change the words "Quantity" and "Items" to "Footage" and "Feet" on the descriptions that come up for the products in the "chain" category. I would also like to stick "per foot" after the "Price: $ 1.50".

I hope I explained that well enough. Should I be trying to alter templates to accomplish this or is this a Smarty/PHP type of job? I'm guessing that I will have to modify some php file to make it check which category it is listing and load a .tpl file accordingly.

Any help is appreciated. I would at least like to know which php scripts and/or templates I need to look at.

Thanks!
- Jordan
Old 12-05-2003, 02:33 PM

Advanced Member

Default More info...

After reading a bit more on the subject of mods, I've narrowed my approach further:

Ideally, I would like to add a new option to the "Add new product" form in the admin area. This would be implemented in the form of radio buttons for "Sold by weight" "Sold by length" and "Sold by item". "Sold by item" would be the default and choosing it would allow x-cart to add the product as it normally does. Accompanying the other two choices would be a menu allowing the admin to select a unit measurement such as "feet" "yards" or "pounds" etc.