Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

H1 tags / keywords in product description?
 
Reply
   X-Cart forums > Using X-Cart in my project > Need advice
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-18-2010, 01:53 PM
 
voodoo1967 voodoo1967 is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 257
 

Default H1 tags / keywords in product description?

I have recently bought CDSEO and it's great.
However - is it worthwhile putting H1 tags in the product description ?, the H1 tag being my main keyword , for example keyword is 'SingleTest'
Category = Test
Product Name = SingleTest
Product Description first line <h1>SingleTest</h1>
Single test blah blah blah blah
__________________
x-cart Gold V4.6.6
CDSEO Pro
php 5.3.29-pl0-gentoo

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2010, 08:22 PM
  ARW VISIONS's Avatar 
ARW VISIONS ARW VISIONS is offline
 

X-Man
  
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,540
 

Default Re: H1 tags / keywords in product description?

product name should be h1 then use h2 in the description
__________________
xcart 5.1.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2010, 12:39 AM
 
voodoo1967 voodoo1967 is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 257
 

Default Re: H1 tags / keywords in product description?

Hi Ashley
How do I get an H1 tag into the product name ? , as far as I can see I can only edit the html in the product description
Sorted that one - I edited the skin1\customer\dialog.tpl and changed the h2 tag near the Title reference to h1 , did a quick check with firebug in firebox , and I now see my product name has H1 tags.

Now - does it matter that I have H1 on my product name and then the first line of my product description also has a H1 tag, the little I know about SEO - then I guess it does as I presume any Search Engine would see 2 x H1 tags on the page.

for example
Category Name "Mounts"
Product Name <h1>Photo Mounts</h1>
Product Description says <h1>Photo Mounts</h1> <br> We have many photo mounts..... blah blah
__________________
x-cart Gold V4.6.6
CDSEO Pro
php 5.3.29-pl0-gentoo

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2010, 04:11 AM
  hoosierglass's Avatar 
hoosierglass hoosierglass is offline
 

X-Adept
  
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Zionsville, IN
Posts: 960
 

Default Re: H1 tags / keywords in product description?

It would be more beneficial to use H2 and bold in the description. SEO is very complex. Search engines look for more than a couple of things and like to see that all aspects are used. Over use of one particular aspect can knock your ratings down.
__________________
X-Cart Gold 4.6.6
Custom Work from www.luminointernet.com
www.indy-pen-dance.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2010, 04:24 AM
  cflsystems's Avatar 
cflsystems cflsystems is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,729
 

Default Re: H1 tags / keywords in product description?

You should create a second dilog.tpl to be used with product.tpl as now all your dilogs will have h1 tag and if you have say 3 dialogs on the product page that will make 3 h1 tags on that same page which is no good.
__________________
Steve Stoyanov
CFLSystems.com
X-Cart Development & Custom Coding
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2010, 10:05 AM
 
voodoo1967 voodoo1967 is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 257
 

Default Re: H1 tags / keywords in product description?

Hi Steve,
Im not sure I understand you. "create a second dilog.tpl to be used with product.tpl" , how do I do that - or rather how do I link them ?

"if you have say 3 dialogs on the product page that will make 3 h1 tags on that same page which is no good. "

Maybe a very very dumb question , 3 dialogs on a product page, all I have is just some product desc text, just html paragraph format.

After changing the dialog.tpl to include the title in a H1 tag , I did a quick check with Firebug in FireFox , and it reports that there is only 1 H1 tag , and that is the product name.
(hope that makes sense)
__________________
x-cart Gold V4.6.6
CDSEO Pro
php 5.3.29-pl0-gentoo

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2010, 10:19 AM
  cflsystems's Avatar 
cflsystems cflsystems is offline
 

Veteran
  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,729
 

Default Re: H1 tags / keywords in product description?

dialog.tpl is used for everything that shows in the central area of the site. It is used for product, send to friend, recommended products.... So if on product page you have the product information, send to friend, recommended products, upselling products (like it is by default) or any other information that is presented in a separate block because all of them use dialog.tpl as container they all will have H1 tag in the title
H1 - product title
H1 - semd to friend title
H1 - recommended products title.....

Now if you have only one container that used dialog.tpl on that page then you have nothing to worry about.
You can just copy dialog.tpl in the same directory, rename it to say dialog_product.tpl and in product.tpl change

{include file="customer/dialog.tpl" title=$product.producttitle|escape content=$smarty.capture.dialog}

to use the new template
__________________
Steve Stoyanov
CFLSystems.com
X-Cart Development & Custom Coding
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2010, 12:46 PM
 
voodoo1967 voodoo1967 is offline
 

eXpert
  
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 257
 

Default Re: H1 tags / keywords in product description?

Ok - thanks Steve - will look into it , would it be easier to just have an H1 tag in the product description text instead?, maybe an easier option for anyone who isnt confortable with editing files etc

I made the change as you suggested in te previous post - worked a treat, thank you very much (I just wish I had time to learn more all about this)

Note to anyone reading this - who has done the same - when you make changes etc - before you test to see if the h1 and h2 tags are in the correct place , make sure you run
www.yourdomain.com/xcartshop/cleanup.php - this refreashes everything, if you dont do this, then your php cache may not be updated to reflect your changes.
__________________
x-cart Gold V4.6.6
CDSEO Pro
php 5.3.29-pl0-gentoo

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2010, 03:01 AM
  just_me's Avatar 
just_me just_me is offline
 

Advanced Member
  
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 69
 

Wink Re: h1 tags for title

I changed h2 to h1 tags for product title in a new dialog_product.tpl as Steve suggested and update the "file include=" in product.tpl as needed.

This is a must mod for SEO right off. The main title should be an h1, subtitles h2 and so on.

Thanks for the tip.
__________________
Cordially,
Just me
X-Cart Gold
Version 4.2.3
Multilingual shop: Spanish, French and US English
Reply With Quote
Reply
   X-Cart forums > Using X-Cart in my project > Need advice


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:26 PM.

   

 
X-Cart forums © 2001-2015