X-Cart: shopping cart software

X-Cart forums (https://forum.x-cart.com/index.php)
-   Dev Questions (https://forum.x-cart.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   CMS Manager with built in HTML editor (https://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=5272)

chikira 11-18-2003 07:30 PM

CMS Manager with built in HTML editor
 
I have finally re-bundled the Content Manager I had built for a client. The CMS system includes:
  • Full Online HTML Editor
    Embedded Page Builder
    Rotating Side Menu Creator
    Fixed Menu Creator
    Easy to install
    Easy to use
    It's totally FREE!
It has been designed for X-Cart 3.4x though in theory it should work on earlier versions. This system is very easy to use and comes with full detailed install instructions, all templates and files that will turn X-Cart into a excellent CMS system...

Download it here:
http://www.artwrkz.net/xcart-CMS.zip

:D Have fun...

carlisleglass 11-19-2003 12:03 AM

you got a demo of this ?

chikira 11-19-2003 08:17 AM

Demo of XCart-CMS
 
Hi,

I am using it on 2 sites that are about to launch but for contract reasons I can't show them yet. However I will show some snapshot images of the admin and the created pages.

http://www.artwrkz.net/CMS_screens/screen1.jpg
http://www.artwrkz.net/CMS_screens/screen2.jpg
http://www.artwrkz.net/CMS_screens/screen3.jpg
http://www.artwrkz.net/CMS_screens/screen4.jpg

I hope this helps!

Regards

Chikira

jpsowin 11-19-2003 08:32 AM

Neat. Did you use a html editor that is IE-only, or that is compatible with the Mozilla system as well? Good work!

adpboss 11-19-2003 08:32 AM

I haven't tried this yet, and might not get time for a couple of weeks, but I just wanted to say...

YOU ARE AWESOME for sharing this.

So many people have been looking for some CMS help in X-Cart. I am sure it will get put to good use.

DataViking 11-19-2003 09:35 AM

It looks awesome, I willl try to install it before the end of this week.
Thanks for sharing.

chikira 11-19-2003 09:39 AM

CMS
 
I love x-cart but the static page system drove me nuts and I needed a way to control more directly the content of the pages. Also my clients want to be able to edit pages themselves but have no idea about HTML. By giving them this tool I can create the base page for them in golive or dreamweaver and paste the source code over and then they can edit the parts they want with ease.

The reason I am sharing this and not charging is 3 reasons:
  • 1. Everyone can benefit from this system
    2. The actual javascript html editor portion of this is a freeware tool I intergrated into some of my projects and cannot charge for it
    3. I saw many people struggling for a CMS manager and thought ok I have the answer why not provide the solution to others
I expect there will be a lot of people who will end up using this and develop it further. I have a few plans for it in the future when I get around to it:
  • Directly control both left and right menus completly
    Edit exisiting X-Cart static pages
    Edit X-Cart Templates
    Create your own groups of content (side bars, main pages, banner sections, etc)
    Create Provider Profiles
    Create Provider Specific Menus / Content

If anyone else wants to make suggestions or create customizations please go ahead. If the makers of X-Cart want to use it they are free to. They would have to contact the makers of the actual HTML editor portion to licence it but I know they are open to this as other shopping carts I have used have this built in.

If you use this code please let me know!

chikira 11-19-2003 09:41 AM

The HTML editor is IE 4.0+ only I have never managed to get it working on Mozilla I am afraid.

chikira 11-19-2003 06:17 PM

Minor Bug Fix
 
The CMS manager has been re-packaged and a small bug was discovered and fixed.

If you have installed the script before the 19th Nov then just replace all the files in the /customer/ folder with the ones in the new distributive and all is well.

You can download the CMS Manager from the link at the top of the page.

:twisted: Chikira

carlisleglass 11-20-2003 02:12 AM

seems to working ok here ... thou had to create a new template file for it to work.

in my version of x-cart the 'home.tpl' for the admin pages is in skin1/single so i had to make a copy of 'home.tpl' into skin1/admin.

chikira 11-20-2003 06:30 AM

Single Mode
 
Hi darrenkierman, I use all my carts in Mall Mode but thanks for the heads up. I am sure that will help all other users who use "Single Mode". I will see about creating a new template for Single Mode users. If anyone else has to adapt the script to work on thier particular version then post it here to help others as well.

:twisted: Chikira

Tuner 11-20-2003 03:28 PM

Thanks You have inspired me to post my mods for free. I think eveyone will find them worthwhile.
Especial my MASS Product Modifier MOD.
I will post hear once I have everything packaged.

Scott Kent

chikira 11-20-2003 08:38 PM

More Open Source!
 
What kind of mods do you have in development?

Is the world of X-Cart mods going to go Open Source? Will this mean the end of civilization as we know it? :lol:

leon 11-20-2003 11:21 PM

Thx
 
Thank you, I will give it a try.

John7 11-20-2003 11:35 PM

Hmmm... question...
 
Hmmm... question...

How well does this work with html catalog?
Can Html catalog make static copies of these pages or pages with the new dynamic content modules installed?

also

How hard would it be if I wanted to have say 10 fixed panels? Would it be difficult to modify?

Thanks,

John7

John7 11-20-2003 11:50 PM

Oh... One more question.
 
Oh... One more question.

How hard would it be to set membership levels for the new full pages?



Thanks,
John7

carlisleglass 11-20-2003 11:54 PM

now i've been using it a bit more ... got a bit of a problem.

Adding items is ok ... but when i come to edit them, the contents of the html box isn't there ... therefore have to type in the whole content again.

any ideas ?

chikira 11-21-2003 07:49 AM

HTML catalog
 
HTML Catalog works fine with the side panels. With the dynamically created pages it doesn't however there is a function that allows you to generate HTML code for any other page and I use that to edit / create html for the static pages that do work with HTML Catalog. One of the future developments is to directly edit / create / intergrate into the static pages and the templates.

To create 10 fixed panels takes a little bit of work.

Essentially you have to do the following.
  • Duplicate and edit the fixedsidepanelX.php files incrementing X up to 10. Edit the code to match teh number of the fixedsidepanel. These are located in /customer.
    Duplicate and edit the fixedsidepanelX.tpl files incrementing X up to 10. Edit the value between the {capture} {/capture} tags.
    Edit cmsmanager.php and cmsmaker.php find where it lists the values of $pagetype in the <options> html tags, you will see the sequence or fixedsidepanels1 - 3 just continue the pattern up to 10.

That should do the trick.

chikira 11-21-2003 07:54 AM

Membership levels
 
You could do that for side panels with an {if} statement in the home.tpl for the side panels...

The following code is not actual code but it will show the flow.

Code:

{if $memebershiplevel=1}
{include fixedsidepanel1.tpl}
{else}
{include fixedsidepanel2.tpl}
{/if}


Hope that helps as a starting point.

chikira 11-21-2003 07:58 AM

Darrenkierman, what version are you running this on? I haven't tested it on 3.50 but in theory it should work fine.

Also is it the side panels, full pages or all pages that are not showing in the edit function. I have also sent you a PM regarding this issue.

John7 11-21-2003 08:55 AM

So far so good...
 
So far so good...

This feature works great so far. It took a little doing to get it to fit my design, but everythings looks good so far...

But One Question.

To add a new content item Click Here This works fine.

But,
To create html for another part of your site Click Here does not go anywhere. What is this supposed to link up to?

It just gives me the following:

Quote:

The page cannot be found
The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.



Where is To create html for another part of your site Click Here supposed to go? Is somthing broken on my end?

Thanks,
John7

chikira 11-21-2003 10:29 AM

Creating HTML for elsewhere
 
John7, I have it working on all of my sites. It is meant to point to here.


This should open a new page that has a large textarea with the HTML editor built in for creating the main page you want. It should look like the screenshot below.

http://www.artwrkz.net/CMS_screens/screenshot_html.jpg

Open up cmsmanager.php in a text editor and look for this line.

Quote:

To create html for another part of your site <a href=/admin/cmsmanager.php?action=html>Click Here</a>


Check that this is actually pointing to the location you placed the cmsmanager.php file.

Hope this helps.

John7 11-21-2003 12:07 PM

That was so simple...
 
That was so simple...

Thanks

carlisleglass 11-23-2003 11:28 PM

Just installed it onto v3.5 Gold ... had to change two of files thou for it to work, and i didn't have to copy the home.tpl file like i had to when i installed it on v3.4.9.

in cmsmaker.php and cmsmanger.php

had to change ..

Code:

require "../smarty.php";
require "../config.php";
require "./auth.php";
require "../include/security.php";

to ....
Code:

require "./auth.php";
require $xcart_dir."/include/security.php";


and change ..

Code:

$smarty->assign("pagecontent",$pagecontent);
$smarty->assign("main","cmsmaker");
$smarty->assign("location",$location);
$smarty->display("admin/home.tpl");

to...
Code:

$smarty->assign("pagecontent",$pagecontent);
$smarty->assign("main","cmsmaker");
$smarty->assign("location",$location);

@include $xcart_dir."/modules/gold_display.php";
$smarty->display("admin/home.tpl");


still got the problem with editing thou, where nothing comes up in the htmlbox when i press the edit button.

chikira 11-24-2003 12:17 AM

3.50
 
Thanks for posting your fixes for 3.50 I haven't had time to install 3.5 yet on any of my new sites. I am actually working on a new version of the CMS manager to cope with some changes. Though I cannot figure out why its not loading the content in for editing. Has anyone else who has installed this had a problem with editing?

Keep posting ladies and gents!

Also let me know if there are any gaping obvious things that you would like to see in the CMS Manager version 2 or any contributions of code you would like to make!

carlisleglass 11-24-2003 12:21 AM

soz about this .. but got another problem now ...

im using a rotating side bar ... which works, except when its on a product page ...

http://shop.cglass.co.uk/customer/product.php?productid=16213&cat=0&page= <--- box is empy
http://shop.cglass.co.uk/customer/ <--- box is there

chikira 11-24-2003 06:20 AM

You can places the requires for the rotatingsidepanel1.php or what ever one you are using at the top of the product.php and that should fix it. Also do the same for Cart.php and Search.php

Like this:

Quote:

require ("./rotatingsidepanel1.php")

That shiuld fix it.

carlisleglass 11-24-2003 11:41 PM

yeap that fixed it ... cheers !

dealsondeals 11-25-2003 09:26 AM

First, thanks for the mod! This was put together nicely.

Second, darrenkierman you were spot on with your changes for 3.5.0, with one caveat. If using x-Cart Gold instead of PRO, it will be necessary to copy home.tpl from skin1/single to skin1/admin in order for the MOD to work properly.

Regards,

Glen

John7 11-25-2003 09:37 AM

Ummmm....
 
Ummmm....

I cant seem to post anything using the
Quote:

'

If any text contains an
Quote:

'
it refuses to update.

Am I left to use "you are" instead of "you're"?

Can this be fixed?

Please help.

John7

chikira 11-25-2003 02:33 PM

It seems that it is not adding slashes to bad characters, by bad characters I mean ones that MySQL has a fit over. I thought I had it behaving to correct that but maybe I missed a spot.

However you can do this.

Instead of "You're" type "You\'re".

This forces the system to treat the following character as a literal character.

If you have the same problem with double quotes ( " ) or at symbols ( @ ) then do the same thing. My apologies for the oversight.

amil 11-26-2003 01:13 PM

OK, never mind - I made it work :).

Thanks a bunch, this is a killer mod!

bjornstrom 12-10-2003 07:08 AM

I've made some additional changes to the system, and I thought I'd share them with you.

I've updated the cms manager and cms maker pages to work even when you have xcart installed in a different directory (not directly in the root of the site). To do this you should add $xcart_web_dir just before /admin/... in the path in all the <img>-tags.
ie
Code:

$header="<center><img src=/admin/images/ezcontentlogo.gif></center>
";

should be changed to
Code:

$header="<center><img src=$xcart_web_dir/admin/images/ezcontentlogo.gif></center>
";


Additionally I've also modified the rotating and fixed panels to not show if there is no content for them. To do this, add this line after the first line in all the panel templates (skin1/customer/...)
Code:

{if $rotatingsidepanel1 ne "" or $rsp1title ne ""}
and add this as a last line
Code:

{/if}
Change the $rotatingsidepanel1 to the same one used further down in the template (could be rotatingsidepanel1, 2 or 3 or $fixedsidepanel1, 2 or 3).
Change the $rsp1title to the same one used further down in the template (could be $rsp1title, $rsp2title or $rsp3title or $fsp1title, $fsp2title or $fsp3title).

chikira 12-10-2003 02:26 PM

Excellent Adaption
 
Hi,

Thanks for posting the mod to my CMS manager! Great idea (forgot to do that with the empty content).

I am still working on version 2 and almost have a working solution for all versions of xcart and requires minimal tech knowledge for installation.

leon 12-10-2003 05:31 PM

Please let us know when this version 2 is ready, would love to try it out.

prang 12-12-2003 04:48 AM

x-cart cms for $49
 
Hi all,

Just a quicky, I found a CMS package at $49.00 from seo-cms.com/sitemap.html. They say "Seo-Cms online store easily incorporates the popular x-cart shopping cart into it's Content Management System based on SEO-CMS template control"

I was just wondering if any one had tried them.

leon 12-12-2003 04:56 AM

Interesting package, why dont you try it yourself and tell us all about your experiences. :wink:

DataViking 12-12-2003 05:39 AM

Re: x-cart cms for $49
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by prang
Hi all,

Just a quicky, I found a CMS package at $49.00 from seo-cms.com/sitemap.html. They say "Seo-Cms online store easily incorporates the popular x-cart shopping cart into it's Content Management System based on SEO-CMS template control"

I was just wondering if any one had tried them.


is $49.00 per Single Domain OUCH :!:

prang 12-12-2003 05:52 AM

seo-cms
 
"is $49.00 per Single Domain OUCH"

I only have a single domain and time is money!


Lloyd

leon 12-12-2003 09:30 AM

If time is money I hope I can Triple my Time Investment ! :lol:

On the other hand, let us know how it went.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.