X-Cart: shopping cart software

X-Cart forums (https://forum.x-cart.com/index.php)
-   Changing design (https://forum.x-cart.com/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Help with meta description conditionals (https://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=73885)

FMF 04-24-2016 02:00 PM

Help with meta description conditionals
 
Hi All,

I am trying to change my meta description code so that if I am on a product page it will just automatically use the $product.descr information. Right now it is using the site wide meta-description.

I've found the code that I need to alter, but my skills are limited so I could use some help.

The Meta Code:

Code:

{if $printable}
  <meta name="ROBOTS" content="NOINDEX,NOFOLLOW" />
{elseif $main eq 'wordpress'}
  <base href="{$catalogs.customer}/" />
  <meta name="description" content="{$page_data.metadescr|truncate:"500":"...":false|escape}" />
  <meta name="keywords" content="{$page_data.metakeywords|truncate:"500":"":false|escape}" />
{if $page_data.additional_meta}
  {foreach from=$page_data.additional_meta key=prop item=val}
  <meta property="{$prop}" content="{$val}" />
  {/foreach}
{/if}
{if $main eq 'product'}
 <meta name="description" content="{$descr}" />
  <meta name="keywords" content="{$page_data.metakeywords|truncate:"500":"":false|escape}" />
{else}
  {meta type='description' page_type=$meta_page_type page_id=$meta_page_id}
  {meta type='keywords' page_type=$meta_page_type page_id=$meta_page_id}
{/if}


I need to add something like this:

Code:

{if $main eq 'products'}

<meta type="description" content="{$product.descr|strip_tags:false}">

{/if}



But I am having difficulty figuring out where to logically add it into the code.

Any help?

cherie 04-24-2016 04:28 PM

Re: Help with meta description conditionals
 
Agreed this is not the best behavior. We found it simpler to adjust the code in include/func/func.product.php after:

PHP Code:

.
    
$product['meta_description'] = trim($product['meta_description']);
    
$product['meta_keywords']    = trim($product['meta_keywords']); 

add:
PHP Code:

if (empty($product['meta_description']))
    
$product['meta_description'] = trim(strip_tags(func_query_first_cell("SELECT descr FROM $sql_tbl[products_lng_current] WHERE productid='$productid'"))); 



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.