X-Cart: shopping cart software

X-Cart forums (https://forum.x-cart.com/index.php)
-   Changing design (https://forum.x-cart.com/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table (https://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=26844)

dgreen 07-29-2008 05:37 AM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
how can I add my new field to the simple and advanced searches?

does anyone have any ideas?

carpart4u 10-01-2008 09:21 AM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PhilJ
OK, here's how it's done in v4.1.x ...
1) Add a new product text field called 'artist'...
Patch the database...
Code:

ALTER TABLE `xcart_products` ADD `artist` TEXT NOT NULL ;
2) include/product_modify.php
Look for...
Code:

# Update product data
Within...
Code:

$query_data = array( ... );
Along similar lines add...
Code:

"artist" => $artist,
3) skin1/main/product_details.tpl
Add this code in a suitable place...
Code:

<tr>
 {if $geid ne ''}<td width="15" class="TableSubHead"><input type="checkbox" value="Y" name="fields[artist]" /></td>{/if}
 <td class="FormButton" nowrap="nowrap">Artist</td>
 <td class="ProductDetails"><input type="text" name="artist" size="18" value="{if $product.productid eq ""}{else}{$product.artist}{/if}" /></td>
</tr>

Or for predefined options...
Code:

<tr>
 {if $geid ne ''}<td width="15" class="TableSubHead"><input type="checkbox" value="Y" name="fields[artist]" /></td>{/if}
 <td class="FormButton" nowrap="nowrap">Artist</td>
 <td class="ProductDetails">
 <select name="artist">
 <option value=""{if $product.artist eq ""} selected{/if}>None</option>
 <option value="Van Gogh"{if $product.artist eq "Van Gogh"} selected{/if}>Van Gogh</option>
 <option value="Picasso"{if $product.artist eq "Picasso"} selected{/if}>Picasso</option>
 </select>
</td>
</tr>

That's it!
To use the field on your product page, (skin1/customer/main/product.tpl), use this code...
Code:

{$product.artist}
To use the field on your products page, (skin1/customer/main/products.tpl or products_t.tpl), use this code...
Code:

{$products[product].artist}


Hi Phil,

I can add a custom field successfully.
When i try to import cvs database...
I got error messages:
Quote:

An error occurred during the verification of the CSV file. Please check your CSV file and fix the problem, then try again.

Date: 01-Oct-2008 10:19:14
Launched by: master

Error on line 2: Column 'BIN_LOCATION' is not supposed to be in the section 'PRODUCTS' (PRODUCTS):
!PRODUCTID;!PRODUCTCODE;!BIN_LOCATION

if that's not supposed to be in the section 'PRODUCTS', which section should I use? THANKS

Learner 03-28-2009 02:46 AM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
I want to add some more fields like Pack Size & Attribute in a small text field and also the content type=Liquid,Solid etc.... in a select box in the product item card.Also I want to import that field values via 3x-4x import. How can I able to do that?Kindly help me to do this.

Thanks to all again.

Learner 04-07-2009 02:23 AM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PhilJ
OK, here's how it's done in v4.1.x ...
That's it!
To use the field on your product page, (skin1/customer/main/product.tpl), use this code...
Code:

{$product.artist}
To use the field on your products page, (skin1/customer/main/products.tpl or products_t.tpl), use this code...
Code:

{$products[product].artist}


Thanks PhilJ for such effort.But can you help me where to add {$product.artist} in
(skin1/customer/main/product.tpl) file?

Learner 04-09-2009 04:39 AM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PhilJ
OK, here's how it's done in v4.1.x ...
1) Add a new product text field called 'artist'...
Patch the database...
Code:

ALTER TABLE `xcart_products` ADD `artist` TEXT NOT NULL ;
2) include/product_modify.php
Look for...
Code:

# Update product data
Within...
Code:

$query_data = array( ... );
Along similar lines add...
Code:

"artist" => $artist,
3) skin1/main/product_details.tpl
Add this code in a suitable place...
Code:

<tr>
 {if $geid ne ''}<td width="15" class="TableSubHead"><input type="checkbox" value="Y" name="fields[artist]" /></td>{/if}
 <td class="FormButton" nowrap="nowrap">Artist</td>
 <td class="ProductDetails"><input type="text" name="artist" size="18" value="{if $product.productid eq ""}{else}{$product.artist}{/if}" /></td>
</tr>

Or for predefined options...
Code:

<tr>
 {if $geid ne ''}<td width="15" class="TableSubHead"><input type="checkbox" value="Y" name="fields[artist]" /></td>{/if}
 <td class="FormButton" nowrap="nowrap">Artist</td>
 <td class="ProductDetails">
 <select name="artist">
 <option value=""{if $product.artist eq ""} selected{/if}>None</option>
 <option value="Van Gogh"{if $product.artist eq "Van Gogh"} selected{/if}>Van Gogh</option>
 <option value="Picasso"{if $product.artist eq "Picasso"} selected{/if}>Picasso</option>
 </select>
</td>
</tr>

That's it!
To use the field on your product page, (skin1/customer/main/product.tpl), use this code...
Code:

{$product.artist}
To use the field on your products page, (skin1/customer/main/products.tpl or products_t.tpl), use this code...
Code:

{$products[product].artist}


Thanks PhilJ for those fine codes.But I can not know where to add {$products[product].artist} in (skin1/customer/main/product.tpl) file?Can you guide me?

Also is it possible to import from 3x-4x import?

Thanks to all.

Learner 06-18-2009 10:37 PM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
Hi,
May I request some help from the Forum please?

I am here --- > ](*,)

Thanks in advance...

Learner 07-08-2009 10:29 PM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
Any response from forum please!!! I really need some help.

Thanks to all.

ADDISON 07-08-2009 11:12 PM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
Thank you PhilJ. People are affraid X-Cart because there are no information how to change the code. If QT will take in consideration to write a developer manual, it will be much easier for everyone to go on their own.

Learner 07-08-2009 11:44 PM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
Hi am2003,
Can you help me a little bit !!!

Thanks to all.

Mathieu-911 07-16-2009 04:55 AM

Re: Adding/Modifying Fields in the Main Product Table
 
Hello!
I'm new with x-cart.
I have try to add one field fallowing the steps you've writen. The data is displayed well but no modification to the data is reported to DataBase. What's wrong ?

To DataBase:
ALTER TABLE `xcart_products` ADD `descrauteurs` TEXT DEFAULT NULL;

in product_modify.php, i added: "descrauteurs" => $descrauteurs at the wright place
and in product_details.tpl, i added:
<tr>
{if $geid ne ''}<td width="15" class="TableSubHead"><input type="checkbox" value="Y" name="fields[descrauteurs]" /></td>{/if}
<td class="FormButton" nowrap="nowrap">{$lng.lbl_descrauteurs}* :</td>
<td class="ProductDetails">
{include file="main/textarea.tpl" name="descrauteurs" cols=45 rows=12 class="InputWidth" data=$product.descrauteurs width="80%" btn_rows=4}
</td>
</tr>

What's the problem ????
Tanks for your help.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.