X-Cart: shopping cart software

X-Cart forums (https://forum.x-cart.com/index.php)
-   Dev Questions (https://forum.x-cart.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   How to add a Secure Cert Logo to your pages (https://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=6004)

shan 01-13-2004 07:12 AM

How to add a Secure Cert Logo to your pages
 
If you have a secure certificate from trust heres a quick walkthrough for getting the logos added to you site

This was done on a 3.5.x site but is pretty much the same for all versions. The only thing that would be any different is the menu part

make sure that you have uploaded your secure_site.gif to your skin1/images dir

new file secure_cert.tpl

Code:

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="5">
  <tr>
    <td align="center" valign="top"><!--
TrustLogo Html Builder Code:
Shows the logo at URL https://www.mysecuresite.com/shop/skin1/images/secure_site.gif
Logo type is Secure Site Seal - For SSL Certificate holders ("SC")
Not Floating
//-->

{literal}
<script type="text/javascript">TrustLogo("https://www.mysecuresite.com/shop/skin1/images/secure_site.gif", "SC", "none");</script>
{/literal}</td>
  </tr>
</table>


notice the {literal}{/literal} tags around the javascript

add this code between the head tags of

customer/home.tpl
single/home.tpl
partner/home.tpl (if you use affiliate)

Code:

{* SECURE SITE CODE STARTS HERE *}
{literal}
<script language="JavaScript" src="https://secure.comodo.net/trustlogo/javascript/trustlogo.js" type="text/javascript">
</script>
{/literal}

{* SECURE SITE CODE ENDS HERE *}


again notice the {literal}{/literal} tags around the javascript

then to get he logo to appear on your pages add this code where you want the cert to appear in the following files

customer/home.tpl
single/home.tpl
partner/home.tpl (if you use affiliate)

Code:

{ include file="secure_cert.tpl"}

If you want the code to appear as a menu item then make secure_cert.tpl look like this ....

Code:

{* $Id: secure_cert.tpl *}
{capture name=menu}

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="5">
  <tr>
    <td align="center" valign="top">
<!--
TrustLogo Html Builder Code:
Shows the logo at URL https://www.mysecuresite.com/shop/skin1/images/secure_site.gif
Logo type is Secure Site Seal - For SSL Certificate holders ("SC")
Not Floating
//-->

{literal}
<script type="text/javascript">TrustLogo("https://www.mysecuresite.com/shop/skin1/images/secure_site.gif", "SC", "none");</script>
{/literal}</td>
  </tr>
</table>

{/capture}
{ include file="menu.tpl" dingbats="dingbats_help.gif" menu_title="Secure Certificate" menu_content=$smarty.capture.menu}


dont forget to replace the java code with the code that you get from the trust setup page http://www.trustlogo.com/ssl-certificate-support/index.html

also note that i set the images to call from the secure location (https://www.mysecuresite.com)rather then the http location so as not to cause any errors

Gibberish 01-13-2004 09:27 AM

Here is mod if you use GeoTrust.

secure_cert.tpl:

Code:

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="5">
  <tr>
    <td align="center" valign="top">
{literal}
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" src="https://smarticon.geotrust.com/si.js"></script>
{/literal}</td>
  </tr>
</table>


customer/home.tpl:

Code:

{* SECURE SITE CODE STARTS HERE *}
{literal}
<script language="JavaScript" fptype="dynamicanimation">
<!--
function dynAnimation() {}
function clickSwapImg() {}
//-->
</script>
<script language="JavaScript1.2" fptype="dynamicanimation" src="http://www.mywebsite.com/animate.js">
</script>
{/literal}
{* SECURE SITE CODE ENDS HERE *}

[/code]

enge919 01-16-2004 11:55 PM

Is this supposed to be a fancier way of just showing the good ol' ???

I tried the code on my site and nothing showed up...what's it supposed to do vs. the way I have it above.

By the way, I use the comodo cert

shan 01-17-2004 01:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by enge919
Is this supposed to be a fancier way of just showing the good ol' ???

I tried the code on my site and nothing showed up...what's it supposed to do vs. the way I have it above.

By the way, I use the comodo cert


yeh, its not rocket science but thought it may help some people.

I happened to be adding a logo to a site and thought I'd post it.

Problem with your way is that it would bring up an insecure error as your calling a file from http :wink:

enge919 01-17-2004 09:16 AM

Whoops, thanks for calling that Shan.

I actually just called that code from my head. I really just use a relative path for most of my images, /store/skin1/images/new/secure_cert.gif or {$ImagesDir}/new/secure_cert.gif and that, as you know keeps the errors from poping up on the secure part of the site.

Also brain freezed and forgot to put my include path "customer" which is where I created the secure_cert.tpl and got it to work. {include file="customer/secure_cert.tpl"}

Unfortunately, I just got the cheap cert to be sure the site was protected and not the fancy one that actually displays all the info on mouseover.

I saw no one had any replies in here, so maybe this will help someone else out.

Thanks man!

Gibberish 01-19-2004 08:18 AM

reason I posted geotrust is because they do not give you a logo to call from. You have to call it from their server, so it's alittle harder then just calling from the {$ImagesDir}.

nfc5382 01-25-2005 06:02 PM

this is a great summary, thanks!

Khar 04-18-2005 06:35 PM

hello,

i am having problems using this mod.

i would like to install a square trade security seal. the code is a java .js file that reads out to a server for the image. therefore, i need the secure pages to be https and the insecure pages to display the seal through http.

my problem, i am placing the seal on the home.tmp which feeds to both the secure and non secure pages.

what should i do?

please help

Tequilaboy 06-01-2005 06:40 PM

I followed the steps outlined above... placed the secure_cert.tpl file in the site root, edited the header portions of the files listed and placed the line of code that sets the location of the logo in "skin1/customer/home.tpl" just under the line that reads [img]{$ImagesDir}/spacer.gif[/img]
, which should place the logo just underneath left menu options.

I'm getting the following error:
Quote:

Warning: Smarty error: unable to read resource: "/secure_cert.tpl" in /usr/home/www/madragz180/madragzstore.com/docs/Smarty-2.6.3/Smarty.class.php on line 1082

The only thing on line 1082 of that file is:
Code:

trigger_error("Smarty error: $error_msg", $error_type);

Not 100% if the error is refering to the smarty.class.php file or the sercure_cert.tpl file. When creating the secure_cert.tpl I simply made a txt file, copied the code into it and renamed it to a tpl.
Little help would be much appreciated

balinor 06-02-2005 03:59 AM

The secure_cert.tpl doesn't go in the SITE root...it goes in the XCART root. That error is due to X-Cart not being able to find the template.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.