X-Cart: shopping cart software

X-Cart forums (https://forum.x-cart.com/index.php)
-   Changing and adding new features (https://forum.x-cart.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Manufacturer's logos listed on front page (https://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=30624)

beetlejuice 04-23-2007 04:21 AM

Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
1 Attachment(s)
I'm not sure if anyone else will find this appealing but it suited me and my site.

XCart were able to help me with this, and as this forum has helped me tremendously, I'd like to give a little back to it.

Basically what I wanted to do was have my suppliers logos in place of the text links in the manufacturer's menu, not the manufacturer's page as other threads have established. If there was no logo then the standard text link would appear. Looks much better if it's either one or the other though. Mixed images and text yech!!!:D

Anyhow here it is:

Attachment 329 (IMPORTANT!! Rename the .txt to .diff)

Quote:

In order to apply the modification, please download the file 'manufacturer_images.diff' and then apply it in the "Apply patch" box on the "Patch/upgrade" page in the admin back-end. The patch will modify the following files in your X-Cart store:

modules/Manufacturers/customer_manufacturers.php
skin1/modules/Manufacturers/menu_manufacturers.tpl

After the patch is applied, you will see that your manufacturers' logos show up in the manufacturers menu instead of the text links. The logos are resized to the 70 pixels width. If you would like to adjust the width, please edit the file 'skin1/modules/Manufacturers/menu_manufacturers.tpl' and find the following line there:

<a href="manufacturers.php?manufacturerid={$manufactu rers_menu[mid].manufacturerid}" class="VertMenuItems">{if $manufacturers_menu[mid].is_image eq 'Y'}<img src="{if $manufacturers_menu[mid].image_path ne ''}{$manufacturers_menu[mid].image_path}{else}{$xcart_web_dir}/image.php?id={$manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturerid}&amp;type=M{/if}" alt="{$manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturer|escape}" width="70" />{else}{$manufacturers_menu[mid].manufacturer}{/if}</a><br />



You can see the result here.

Hope this mod helps others looking for this type of mod.

Any problems let me know, however this was written exclusively for XCart 4.16, but should work on all the 4.1 series, but can't guarantee it.

beetlejuice

aslater 04-23-2007 08:26 AM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
Nice addon works great for me.. http://www.bitzdirect.com

ProMuscles 04-24-2007 04:17 PM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
Looks good however on your site Toys for boys. When I click on a a product image it refreshes the whole site. I am using IE 6.

beetlejuice 04-24-2007 04:34 PM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
G'day promuscles,

When you say it refreshes the whole site, when you click on a link(image) are you redirected to any of that manufacturer's products at all or straight back to your home page?
Did you copy the code exactly? I've reproduced it on a couple of sites and had no problems. Have you altered any other codes for your menus etc?

beetlejuice

ProMuscles 04-25-2007 10:24 PM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
Beetlejuice I do not think it is this mod but the mod you have that highlights the products. If you go down two products it make a very annoying flash I thought it was a refresh but I think it is just a flash of black across the screen.

beetlejuice 04-26-2007 12:30 AM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
Promuscles,

Yep you're right. #@#ing IE. That's the problem when you use other browsers like Firefox as I do. It's only a 20% market share but by rights should have more "bugs" than IE, but as it turns out it's soooooooooooooooooo much better in every way than IE.
However, that doesn't solve the "flashing". Can anyone else give me a heads up to why this occurs in IE only including IE7?
I don't really want to destroy the appearance or mods unless it's really necessary.

beetlejuice

#EDIT
Found the problem. IE doesn't like the rounded CSS borders for my menu.tpl. Well looks like out they go. Bah!!

shopccp 06-06-2007 03:53 PM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
I applied the manufacturer_images.diff in the patch/ upgrade section. It says its unable to find the two files: customer_manufacturers.php and menu_manufacturers.tpl.

I can't figure out why.


Justin











Quote:

Originally Posted by beetlejuice
I'm not sure if anyone else will find this appealing but it suited me and my site.

XCart were able to help me with this, and as this forum has helped me tremendously, I'd like to give a little back to it.

Basically what I wanted to do was have my suppliers logos in place of the text links in the manufacturer's menu, not the manufacturer's page as other threads have established. If there was no logo then the standard text link would appear. Looks much better if it's either one or the other though. Mixed images and text yech!!!:D

Anyhow here it is:

Attachment 329 (IMPORTANT!! Rename the .txt to .diff)


You can see the result here.

Hope this mod helps others looking for this type of mod.

Any problems let me know, however this was written exclusively for XCart 4.16, but should work on all the 4.1 series, but can't guarantee it.

beetlejuice


beetlejuice 06-07-2007 01:04 AM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
HI Justin,

Can you FTP into your site? If you can you should be able to find:
customer_manufacturers.php under /modules/manufacturers and

menu_manufacturers.tpl under skin1/modules/manufacturers

Just check that they are there, they should be. Have you installed any other mods, add-ons etc?

Regards

beetlejuice

shopccp 06-07-2007 12:33 PM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
Hey. Thanks for the response back.
The strange part is both files are there. There are mods installed but nothing that would affect customer_manufacturer.php and menu_manufacturer.tpl. I do not understand why the patch/ upgrade cannot find these two files. The path is correct. I am using windows. The path is D:\shop.ccp.com/skin1/modules/Manufacturers/menu_manufacturers.tpl
D:\shop.ccp.com/modules/Manufacturers/customer_manufacturers.php.


I put the code in manually. It works. Nice mod beetlejuice.


Justin

Quote:

Originally Posted by beetlejuice
HI Justin,

Can you FTP into your site? If you can you should be able to find:
customer_manufacturers.php under /modules/manufacturers and

menu_manufacturers.tpl under skin1/modules/manufacturers

Just check that they are there, they should be. Have you installed any other mods, add-ons etc?

Regards

beetlejuice


beetlejuice 06-07-2007 01:35 PM

Re: Manufacturer's logos listed on front page
 
G'day Justin,

I haven't had a chance to delve into the code myself as I just ran the diff file that XCart sent me. I'll have a look later and see if I can find anything that may cause the problem. Are you on a webserver or running XCart on a test machine?

Windows or Unix shouldn't make any difference to my knowledge which is limited in that area.

beetlejuice


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.