X-Cart: shopping cart software

X-Cart forums (https://forum.x-cart.com/index.php)
-   Changing and adding new features (https://forum.x-cart.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Horizontal and Vertical Flyout Category Menu (https://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=16820)

mffowler 09-27-2005 11:48 AM

Thanks Phil! Talk about making it easy to add some flyouts... worked great on one clients site and am working the CSS to make it perfect.

Thanks for your generousity,

Mike

garry 09-27-2005 01:23 PM

Thank you, tried it and it works great, will fully implement when I have edited the css.
Great mod

mffowler 09-27-2005 01:27 PM

If anyone can get additional sub-categories to fly-out further, please add the code modification here.

This mod takes about 30 seconds to implement as is. Thanks again.

- Mike

shipmerchant 09-27-2005 06:14 PM

Hi Xcart Experts,

Can some please post a snippet of code for the head.tpl

skin1/customer/home.tpl just before the </head> tag.
<LINK rel="stylesheet" href="{$SkinDir}/flyouts/vert.css">
<SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.3 src="{$SkinDir}/flyouts/menu.js"></SCRIPT>

Here is what I have for the above, could someone please tell me if this is correct?

</TITLE>
{ include file="meta.tpl" }
<LINK rel="stylesheet" href="{$SkinDir}/{#CSSFile#}">
<LINK rel="stylesheet" href="{$SkinDir}/flyouts/vert.css">
<SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.3 src="{$SkinDir}/flyouts/menu.js"></SCRIPT>
</HEAD>


Please post snippet of where to place this code below for flyouts to appear for the categories menus area.

{include file="flyouts/vert.tpl"}



Thanks a bunch! Its been one of those days!

mffowler 09-27-2005 06:24 PM

There is a readme file with the zip...

- Mike

PhilJ 09-28-2005 09:14 AM

Hi shipmerchant, your head.tpl code is correct. Where you put the menu is up to you. If you want it as shown in the screenshot, locate skin1/customer/home.tpl and replace

Code:

{ include file="customer/categories.tpl" }

with

Code:

{include file="flyouts/vert.tpl"}

PhilJ 09-28-2005 09:22 AM

Incidentally, if anyone has solved the reason why it shows a broken sub-menu for categories without subcategories, please post the code.

This is the code I thought would work.

Code:

{if $subcategories}
Show the DIV
{else}
Don't
{/if}


shipmerchant 09-28-2005 01:50 PM

HI PhilJ,

Thanks for your help, thats exactly what I was looking for in my request, clear direction from a someone who has some positive feedback! This is what exactly what the Xcart forums needs, people with answers.
Thats what I call help, thanks again. :D

vivienne 09-30-2005 05:41 PM

Note on limitations
 
This is cool but I misunderstood the limitations, it is not that it will only display one level of subcat - it will not work at all if there are more levels.

(correct me if I am wrong)

Vivienne

mffowler 09-30-2005 05:59 PM

Yes, Phil's mod shows root categories and one level of sub-categories. It does not show anything deeper in the menu. This may be OK, as it is lean and you can select further in the main template.

Showing further cats would result in a similarity between this and the fancy cats mod. But, I would love to see a solution to having at least one additional subcats. level....

- Mike


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.