X-Cart: shopping cart software

X-Cart forums (https://forum.x-cart.com/index.php)
-   Changing design (https://forum.x-cart.com/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Head Template Logo Change (https://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=45710)

RandyK 02-20-2009 05:13 AM

Head Template Logo Change
 
I'm trying to remove the xlogo.gif image and replace it with my logo. However, my logo is the width of the entire page. I'm in the skin1/customer/head.tpl but am having problems getting this done. Any suggestions? Thank you in advance.

balinor 02-20-2009 05:21 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
http://forum.x-cart.com/showthread.php?t=20303

RandyK 02-20-2009 05:31 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
I did what it says in this post but the problem is my logo is the width of the page and it squeezes it into the set width of the xlogo.

balinor 02-20-2009 05:36 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
So remove the dimensions or replace them with yours.

RandyK 02-20-2009 05:41 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Below is the area of question in skin1/customer/head.tpl:

<div class="line1">
<div class="logo"><a href="{$catalogs.customer}/home.php"><img src="{$ImagesDir}/xlogo.gif" alt="" /></a></div>

My logo is 960x80 as the site will eventually be 960 in width. How would you write this in? Sorry for what should be obvious questions, having a bit of a learning curve in 4.2.

balinor 02-20-2009 05:48 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Ah, you need to specify which version your question applies to, as you have two in your signature. Look at the .logo class in the main stylesheet, the dimension is probably there.

RandyK 02-20-2009 06:28 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Found it, thank you.

beabear12 07-08-2009 06:14 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Hello, I am having this same problem. Unforunately I know nothing about web design but would just like the logo to fit in the template I purchased. I tried to follow whatever instructions and other answers I could find on here but nothing has changed. My logo is 300 x 87px. Here is what's on the main style sheet right now:

#header .line1 {
position: relative;
height: 87px;
direction: ltr;
}
#header .line1 .logo {
margin-left: 0px;
width: 300px;
}
#header .line1 .logo a img {
width: 300px;
height: 87px;

As you can see I thought this might be where I was supposed to change the numbers, so I played around with it, but nothing happened.

Help, please!!

dwpers 08-12-2009 07:46 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
I've tried adding my logo in, but since it has a larger height than the default template has allowed for, the orange search bar overlaps my main content....is there a fix to this? I assume margin or padding increase for the middle content?

cflsystems 08-12-2009 09:32 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Yes it's all in the main.css
Use FF and Firebug it will tell you exactly what and where

SiamContainer 02-25-2010 05:36 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Guys, I need help right here.
I spent 6 hrs already try to increase logo size.
Still not work.

I track the code down to the following, I still don't know which part to modify.

This is the original code from main.css & original theme.
Quote:

header styles
*/
#header .line1 {
position: relative;
height: 67px;
direction: ltr;
}
#header .line1 .logo {
padding-top: 9px;
margin-left: 27px;
width: 203px;
}
#header .line1 .logo a img {
width: 203px;
height: 48px;
}


I edited "#header .line1 .logo a img" size already but it didn't move search bar down.
So the picture is bigger but it stay behind the bar.


Although I have some knowledge to HTTP.
I'm very new to CSS, basically less than 24hrs working on it.

....

Thanks in advance.

gizmo 02-25-2010 06:05 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
You Need to increase highlighted in red below as well
#header .line1 {
position: relative;
height: 67px; (Increase this a bit at a time to see how it meets your needs)
direction: ltr;
}

Bare in mind once you start increasing that you might also have to adjust highlighted in red (Mine is custom, but that's where you will have to adjust as well, by increasing it>

#content-container {
clear: both;
float: left;
overflow: hidden;
position: relative;
width: 100%;
padding-bottom: 39px;
margin-top: 210px;
background: transparent url(images/top_left.gif) no-repeat left;;
background-position: 595px 6px;

SiamContainer 02-25-2010 06:44 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Got it done!!!!
Thank you very much.

gizmo 02-25-2010 08:38 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Your Welcome, this has for the record been discussed many times. I'm glad you got it sorted...

cbostard 03-01-2010 04:07 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
I was running into same problem, but how do I get rid of the orange bar that the search button is in on the home page near the top and just under the logo ( I think im using the same template as above. just the default 3column.4.3.1 im not sure what the header bar is called.

thanks

gizmo 03-01-2010 05:53 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
#header .line2 {
background:url("images/head_linebg.gif") repeat-x scroll center top transparent;
border-color:#CB480C -moz-use-text-color;
border-left:medium none;
border-right:medium none;
border-style:solid none;
border-width:1px medium;
color:#451300;
height:39px;
position:relative;
width:100%;




Higlighted in red is border..

cbostard 03-01-2010 07:00 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Thanks Gizmo, Ill give it a try, hard getting use to the new css. just when I thought I had 4.1.12 down

Thanks again.

gizmo 03-01-2010 11:02 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cbostard
Thanks Gizmo, Ill give it a try, hard getting use to the new css. just when I thought I had 4.1.12 down

Thanks again.



Just realised your version sorry:
skin1/skin1.css


.HeadLine {
BACKGROUND-IMAGE: url(images/head_linebg.gif);/*This is your back image
background-position: top;
background-repeat: repeat-x;
padding-right: 20px;
}
.HeadThinLine {
BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cb480c; /*this is colour of line
HEIGHT: 1px; /*This is giving the line
}

So to remove line
.HeadLine {
BACKGROUND-IMAGE: url(images/head_linebg.gif);
background-position: top;
background-repeat: repeat-x;
padding-right: 20px;
}
.HeadThinLine {
BACKGROUND-COLOR: #; /*BACKGROUND LINE COLOUR WILL NOW GO*/
HEIGHT: 1px; /*This is giving the line but will give nothing if colour set to nothing*/

Hope this is what your looking for...
}

cbostard 03-01-2010 12:21 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Gizmo, you were correct on the 1st post. I am testing 4.3.1 now, just getting it all fixed up before I transfer over from 4.1.12 vers.

I guess i need to update the avitar
thanks again

brice 03-04-2010 09:44 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
I modified header.line1

Is it the content container that moved everything else down? I successfully moved the search bar, but then it obstructed other items on the page and i couldn't find a way to move EVERYthing down proportionally to the logo.

Quote:

Originally Posted by gizmo
You Need to increase highlighted in red below as well
#header .line1 {
position: relative;
height: 67px; (Increase this a bit at a time to see how it meets your needs)
direction: ltr;
}

Bare in mind once you start increasing that you might also have to adjust highlighted in red (Mine is custom, but that's where you will have to adjust as well, by increasing it>

#content-container {
clear: both;
float: left;
overflow: hidden;
position: relative;
width: 100%;
padding-bottom: 39px;
margin-top: 210px;
background: transparent url(images/top_left.gif) no-repeat left;;
background-position: 595px 6px;


gizmo 03-04-2010 09:49 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Brice
The original was aimed at the topic poster, are you using Light and Lucid?

After you adjust header . line1


You will then have to adjust in red the content-container by increasing this, if you have increased line height to compensate the adjustments made to line1 height


So in short increase : margin-top: 210px; within content container, like I siad increase to fit your design...

brice 03-04-2010 10:01 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gizmo
Brice
The original was aimed at the topic poster, are you using Light and Lucid?

After you adjust header . line1


You will then have to adjust in red the content-container by increasing this, if you have increased line height to compensate the adjustments made to line1 height


So in short increase : margin-top: 210px; within content container, like I siad increase to fit your design...


That's what I was confirming. Default light and Lucid (http://keepsakes4kids.com/store). I'm working with various logos (the one there just doesn't work so no comments about colors or logos :wink: It's a work in progress. I found that when I moved the search bar/header, it overlapped the categories and they were no longer funcitonal... I'll try content container and see what happens.


Thanks!!!!

gizmo 03-04-2010 10:16 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
It's been a long day sorry, so many people asking various things8O
No comments about colours (No worries)

Your Current Header Logo > http://www.keepsakes4kids.com/store/skin1/images/custom/logov1.jpg

Your header width you have set as Height 76, but your logo height is 150. You need to make sure header height is at least the same as your logo height..

Also your > #header .line1 .logo a img (That's holding your image is set at 76px (When your image is height 150....

In short it is scaling your image not to it's proper height because you have set height in the above to 76px..

The header is complex, in that there are quite a few css controlling various things on the header, in that you alter one, you have to alter another to control and compensate the edits you do..

brice 03-04-2010 10:38 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Exactly. When I added it originally I had the proper dimensions, but it was placed under the search bar/header. When I figured out how to move that down to keep my logo at the proper dimension, I overwrote the categories and bread crumbs and could no longer access. I've learned EXACTLY what you are telling me - the hard way. Touching one item here has so many other ramifications. Seems like a robust architecture, but it's also complex and poorly documented. As a former programmer I can say it's typical. Doc comes last. :D

I know I never touched the content container when I tried doing this last night. When I do, I think the categorie, search bar/header and other content will move down. Again, I'll try tonight. Not sure you can help me much more on this until I give that a go later tonight.

I'm contemplating buying a custom skin closer to what I really want and pray my notes on what I've changed (welcome text, etc) isn't lost in my language variables when I move to a new skin. Thank goodness I'm not in production yet. ha ha.

Thanks for your help. I'm new here and I've noticed you are VERY helpful experienced user sharing the wealth! The world needs more people like you.

Take care.

P.S. By the way my middle name is Alan. Apparently a name reserved for brilliant people.
Quote:

Originally Posted by gizmo
It's been a long day sorry, so many people asking various things8O
No comments about colours (No worries)

Your Current Header Logo > http://www.keepsakes4kids.com/store/skin1/images/custom/logov1.jpg

Your header width you have set as Height 76, but your logo height is 150. You need to make sure header height is at least the same as your logo height..

Also your > #header .line1 .logo a img (That's holding your image is set at 76px (When your image is height 150....

In short it is scaling your image not to it's proper height because you have set height in the above to 76px..

The header is complex, in that there are quite a few css controlling various things on the header, in that you alter one, you have to alter another to control and compensate the edits you do..


gizmo 03-04-2010 10:51 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Brice:
Yea I am still learning, lol.. Once you get the hang of it it is quite adaptable, I think most designers base there designs starting with light and lucid.

I have spent almost 2 months trying to get My designs right for production, I suppose I am too much of a perfectionist.

Hey web design and css is not easy and we all learn off each other.

I am here to help, and just a pm away, I try and help where I can and understand fully that starting out with x-cart is not easy within all areas.

LOL .... Alan (The name says it all I guess)

sparker2 03-09-2010 12:59 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
:? Hello everyone, no matter what I change in the main.css file my header will not increase to show the whole logo which is bt.jpg 615x177 in my header. Can some please help me with this. I just installed the new 4.3.1 version in a test directory at http://www.stitches4u.com/fresh_install/home.php and have started to make changes to my template to get the way it was on my orginal vs 4.1.10 site which is http://www.stitches4u.com. I have been working on this logo since yesterday. I am using a template from
http://x-cart-customization.com (Gambling Shop Template #1503) over the xcart Light & Lucid 3-column template. Thank you very much for your help. Shareen

sparker2 03-09-2010 01:19 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
:D Never mind. I think I got it.

Bearsnum34 03-19-2010 04:22 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Now what happens if I like head_linebg.gif but just want to change its color? Would I have to create a new .gif?

Thanks

Quote:

Originally Posted by gizmo
#header .line2 {
background:url("images/head_linebg.gif") repeat-x scroll center top transparent;
border-color:#CB480C -moz-use-text-color;
border-left:medium none;
border-right:medium none;
border-style:solid none;
border-width:1px medium;
color:#451300;
height:39px;
position:relative;
width:100%;




Higlighted in red is border..


SiamContainer 03-19-2010 11:26 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
3 Attachment(s)
Hey guys,
Sorry, have to come back to the same problem of enlarging logo again.

On the main page and product page, everything is fine. (Pix 01)
However, my larger logo is blocking some info on "Cart" and "Checkout" page. (Pix 02 - 03)


I guess editing main.css and moving yellow bar will not effect "Cart" and "Checkout" page.

Which file to fix???

Thanks again.

cflsystems 03-20-2010 04:40 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
You are using FLC - skin1/modules/Fast_Lane_Checkout. It has its own templates and style sheet files so you need to edit them as well

SiamContainer 03-20-2010 01:47 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cflsystems
You are using FLC - skin1/modules/Fast_Lane_Checkout. It has its own templates and style sheet files so you need to edit them as well


Thanks but I can't seem to find the same thing to edit as in main skin1 - main.css
(header.line1 and content container

What to edit in skin1/modules/Fast_Lane_Checkout?
Is it main.css?
Which line?????

Thank again.

cflsystems 03-21-2010 01:04 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Use firebug in firefox to find out the exact class you need to edit

Bearsnum34 03-22-2010 11:46 AM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
I have been trying to figure out how to change that orange bar and I found it as an image. I like the bar but I just want to change the color.

Does anyone have any ideas?

cflsystems 03-22-2010 01:02 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
You have to recreate the image or use flat color instead

Bearsnum34 03-22-2010 01:53 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Not sure I understand what you mean by flat color? Also, which do you think is best?


Quote:

Originally Posted by cflsystems
You have to recreate the image or use flat color instead


cflsystems 03-22-2010 03:49 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Sorry I meant just regular color as a background not an image that looks 3d or with shadow and stuff... What's best depends on your design.

Bearsnum34 03-22-2010 04:03 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
HA, Design...I have the regular one intalled...I have been working on trying to figure out how to change the design for almost a week now and I am lost and frustrated.

I can't even figure out how to move the bestsellers box...... :( I can move it with firebug but can't figure out how to move it in the templete as I can not find the HTML in the templete.

Quote:

Originally Posted by cflsystems
Sorry I meant just regular color as a background not an image that looks 3d or with shadow and stuff... What's best depends on your design.


cflsystems 03-22-2010 04:06 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Time to learn smarty I guess. It's a smarty call not an html code.

Bearsnum34 03-22-2010 04:16 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Your killing me!!! LOL

Is smarty a plug in for firefox, IE......?

Quote:

Originally Posted by cflsystems
Time to learn smarty I guess. It's a smarty call not an html code.


cflsystems 03-22-2010 04:19 PM

Re: Head Template Logo Change
 
Nope. www.smarty.net

It's a template engine. XCart is built on it along with PHP and MySQL


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.