Follow us on Twitter X-Cart on Facebook Wiki
Shopping cart software Solutions for online shops and malls

Adding a "How Did You Hear About Us" ??

X-Cart forums > X-Cart 4 > Dev Questions

Old 04-13-2003, 05:13 PM

Advanced Member

Default Adding a "How Did You Hear About Us" ??

I would like to add a text input field on the registration page that displays with the user information. I would like it to be a "How Did You Hear About Us" textarea input multiline. Will someone please give me an example of code to edit and if I need to add a field to my database? I use phpAdmin and I'm pretty good with the database part, just a complete newbie who is eager to learn when it comes to the smarty template. I have a feeling I will add the text input to the register.tpl, then edit some file that writes to the database, probably a php file and then edit a php file that does the query from the database with a display. I have the concept, but I can't afford to mess up the variables. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Chris
Old 04-13-2003, 05:45 PM

Advanced Member

Default I DID IT!!!

This post is kinda wide?
Wow, my first successful edit..I searched for a post and found this:

Quote:
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 9:45 pm Post subject: Steps to add a second address line and province field...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am in the process of 'hacking' my x-cart to allow for a second address line, and a 'province' line for international (non-US) users.

I have added the fields to the database, in customer and order tables, and modified the register.php script to insert the new lines of data into the database.

However, I fail to find the script to modify to get the new address data into the orders table... all the data is entered into the customers table correctly, but not in the orders table (my added fields are left blank).

Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!!!

Paul